[Libs-Or] Reminder: CLS Innovation in College Librarianship Award

Arch, Xan arch at up.edu
Tue Nov 5 12:32:04 PST 2019

CLS Innovation in College Librarianship Award
Nomination Deadline: December 6, 2019
The purpose of the CLS Innovation Award is to recognize college librarians and staff who demonstrate successful introduction of innovation in their library through a new idea, method, project, or device that enhances student learning and/or faculty development and overall works to promote the library as integral to the achievement of the college's mission.
The award is administered by the College Libraries Section of ACRL and will be presented at the CLS Friday Night Feast at the 2020 ALA Annual Conference in Chicago.
$1,000 award and plaque, sponsored by SCELC<https://scelc.org/>.
As nominee(s), the librarian(s) must have demonstrated a capacity for innovation in working with or serving undergraduates or instructors in the areas of programs, services, and operations; or creating innovations for library colleagues that facilitate their ability to better serve the library’s community.
At least one of the nominees must be an ALA member to be eligible for this award.
Nominees must be in an academic library setting at institutions fitting the Carnegie classifications of Baccalaureate or Masters Colleges and Universities. Canadian academic libraries are eligible if at least one nominee is an ALA member and if the nominee(s) can demonstrate their institution's status is comparable to the Carnegie classification of Baccalaureate or Masters Colleges and Universities.
To determine if your institution qualifies under the Carnegie classifications of Baccalaureate or Masters Colleges and Universities please search your school at: http://carnegieclassifications.iu.edu/lookup/lookup.php
Nomination Process & Submissions
Electronic submissions through the online nomination form<https://acrl.libwizard.com/f/clsaward> are required. Nominations should include the following:

  1.  Letter of nomination (including self-nomination) (no more than 1,000 words)
  2.  Letter of recommendation, if self-nominating. Otherwise, the letter of nomination will serve as the letter of recommendation.
  3.  Written description (maximum 1,000 words) of a new idea, method, project or device that enhances student learning and/or faculty development and works to promote the library as integral to the achievement of the college’s mission.
  4.  Describe (maximum 500 words) the impact that it has had (or is anticipated to have) on the library and how it supports the college’s mission.
  5.  Describe (maximum 500 words) what other librarians can learn from the experience and how it could be replicated in other libraries.
  6.  Include evidence of work or a link to the project (i.e. what does the project look like?). This could be a syllabus, slide presentation, photos of event, a LibGuide on the project, etc.
The selected recipient will provide a statement describing the impact that the project has had on their library. This statement will be used in the announcement for the following year's award call for nominations.
Information and Assistance
Questions or requests for assistance in compiling a nomination should be directed to Susan A. Schreiner, susan.schreiner at ghc.edu<mailto:susan.schreiner at ghc.edu> or Chase Ollis, collis at ala.org<mailto:collis at ala.org>.
2019 Recipient

Bill Jones and Ben Rawlins<http://www.ala.org/news/member-news/2019/03/suny-geneseo-receives-acrl-cls-innovation-college-librarianship-award>, both of the State University of New York (SUNY) - Geneseo Milne Library
Previous Recipients

  *   2018 - Teresa D. Williams<http://www.ala.org/news/member-news/2018/03/williams-receives-acrl-cls-innovation-college-librarianship-award>, Business Librarian at Butler University
  *   2017 - Jennifer Hunter and Christina Riehman-Murphy<http://www.ala.org/news/member-news/2017/02/hunter-and-riehman-murphy-receive-acrl-cls-innovation-college-librarianship>, both of Penn State-Abington
  *   2016 - Barbara Merolli<http://www.ala.org/news/press-releases/2016/01/merolli-receives-acrl-cls-innovation-college-librarianship-award>, College of the Holy Cross
  *   2015 - Melinda Beland, Angie Cox, Melissa Gevaert, Anna Hollingsworth and Linda McLaury<http://www.ala.org/news/press-releases/2015/03/northern-iowa-s-comic-con-committee-receives-acrl-cls-innovation-college>, all of the University of Northern Iowa’s Rod Library
  *   2014 - Tish Hayes, Terra B. Jacobson and Troy A. Swanson<http://www.ala.org/news/press-releases/2014/02/hayes-jacobson-and-swanson-receive-acrl-cls-proquest-innovation-college>, all of the Moraine Valley Community College (MVCC) Library
  *   2013 - Erin T. Smith and Jamie P. Kohler<http://www.ala.org/news/press-releases/2013/03/smith-and-kohler-receive-acrl-cls-proquest-innovation-college-librarianship>, both of the Westminster College McGill Library
  *   2012 - Anne Burke, Adrienne Lai, and Adam Rogers<http://www.ala.org/news/press-releases/2012/02/burke-lai-and-rogers-receive-acrl-cls-proquest-innovation-college>, all of North Carolina State University Libraries
  *   2011 - Catherine Haras and Teresa Portilla Omidsalar<http://www.ala.org/news/press-releases/2011/02/haras-omidsalar-receive-acrl-cls-proquest-innovation-college-librarianship>, both of California State University at Los Angeles
  *   2010 - Sigrid Kelsey and Angela K. VandenBroek<http://www.ala.org/news/news/pressreleases2010/february2010/cls_acrl>, both of Louisiana State University
  *   2009 - Bruce Connolly and Gail Golderman<http://www.ala.org/news/news/pressreleases2009/february2009/acrlproquest>, both of Union College

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://omls.oregon.gov/pipermail/libs-or/attachments/20191105/997b7e5b/attachment.html>

More information about the Libs-Or mailing list