Offices of Oregon's Statewides

Secretary of State, State Treasurer, Attorney General, Labor Commissioner



Press Advisory For News Planning January 2, 2013 CONTACT: Bob Estabrook, 503-709-0730

Four Statewides to Hold Joint Swearing-In Ceremony

Governors Kitzhaber, Roberts to participate in historic investiture

SALEM- The offices of four of Oregon's statewide elected officials—Secretary of State, State Treasurer, Attorney General and Commissioner of Labor and Industries—will hold a joint swearing-in ceremony on January 4, 2013, to kick-off their new term in office. Oregon Governor John Kitzhaber, M.D., will administer the oath of office while former Governor Barbara Roberts will emcee the ceremony.

Friday's swearing-in ceremony is the first in 66 years to include four statewide elected officials. In 1947, the newly reelected Governor, Secretary of State, Superintendent of Public Instruction and Labor Commissioner took their oaths of office on the same day. At that time, all four positions were elected on a partisan basis and three of the four officials were Republicans.

Specific event details:

WHO:	Secretary of State Kate Brown, State Treasurer Ted Wheeler, Attorney General Ellen Rosenblum and Labor and Industries
	Commissioner Brad Avakian
WHAT:	Historic Joint Swearing-In Ceremony
WHEN:	11:00am on January 4, 2013
WHERE:	State House Chambers at the Oregon Capitol in Salem

Media availability for any statewide elected official should be scheduled through the respective spokesperson for their office:

Secretary's Office – Andrea Cantu-Schomus: <u>andrea.l.cantu-schomus@state.or.us</u> Treasurer's Office – James Sinks: <u>james.sinks@state.or.us</u> Attorney General's Office – Jeff Manning: <u>jeff.d.manning@state.or.us</u> Commissioner's Office – Bob Estabrook: <u>bob.estabrook@state.or.us</u>

######