OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE LAVONNE GRIFFIN-VALADE SECRETARY OF STATE

CHERYL MYERS DEPUTY SECRETARY OF STATE AND TRIBAL LIAISON



ARCHIVES DIVISION STEPHANIE CLARK DIRECTOR

800 SUMMER STREET NE SALEM, OR 97310 503-373-0701

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING INCLUDING STATEMENT OF NEED & FISCAL IMPACT

CHAPTER 839 BUREAU OF LABOR AND INDUSTRIES

FILING CAPTION: Amends OFLA- and Sick Time-related rules to implement Chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024.

LAST DAY AND TIME TO OFFER COMMENT TO AGENCY: 06/21/2024 5:00 PM

The Agency requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule's substantive goals while reducing negative economic impact of the rule on business.

A public rulemaking hearing may be requested in writing by 10 or more people, or by a group with 10 or more members, within 21 days following the publication of the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in the Oregon Bulletin or 28 days from the date the Notice was sent to people on the agency mailing list, whichever is later. If sufficient hearing requests are received, the notice of the date and time of the rulemaking hearing must be published in the Oregon Bulletin at least 14 days before the hearing.

CONTACT: Josh Nasbe 971-269-4431 josh.d.nasbe@boli.oregon.gov 1800 SW 1st Ave, Suite 500 Portland,OR 97201 Filed By: Josh Nasbe Rules Coordinator

NEED FOR THE RULE(S)

These rules are necessary to implement the provisions of Chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024 and to update related rules.

DOCUMENTS RELIED UPON, AND WHERE THEY ARE AVAILABLE

Chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024 (Enrolled Senate Bill 1515) is available here: https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2024R1/Measures/Overview/SB1515

STATEMENT IDENTIFYING HOW ADOPTION OF RULE(S) WILL AFFECT RACIAL EQUITY IN THIS STATE

The purpose of these rule amendments is to provide clarity to Oregon businesses and Oregon workers on the application of the Oregon Family Leave Act and the laws relating to Sick Leave, in light of the adoption of chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024. The amendments will support racial equity by providing as much clarity and simplicity as possible, to make the rules accessible to a diverse set of individuals and businesses. Whenever possible, the rules have been formulated with the intention to embed fairness and transparency into the process, thereby supporting racial equity. To the extent that the underlying statutes support racial equity, these rules will have a corresponding effect.

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT:

Nearly all of the provisions in these rules are required by or otherwise implement recent legislation. The resulting fiscal impact likely includes costs associated with updating employee forms and policies, and, in specified circumstances, providing employees with information related to their leave requests.

COST OF COMPLIANCE:

(1) Identify any state agencies, units of local government, and members of the public likely to be economically affected by the rule(s). (2) Effect on Small Businesses: (a) Estimate the number and type of small businesses subject to the rule(s); (b) Describe the

FILED 05/08/2024 9:48 AM

ARCHIVES DIVISION

SECRETARY OF STATE

expected reporting, recordkeeping and administrative activities and cost required to comply with the rule(s); (c) Estimate the cost of professional services, equipment supplies, labor and increased administration required to comply with the rule(s).

All state agencies and units of local government, and private employers who meet the definition of "employer" in ORS 659A.153 or ORS 653.601 are subject to the Oregon Family Leave Act and state law relating to Sick Leave. Correspondingly, individuals who meet the definition of an employee in ORS 659A.156 or ORS 653.601 may exercise the rights provided for in these rules. For private sector entities, the definition of "employer" for the OFLA-related rules is limited to those that employ 25 or more persons in the State of Oregon for each working day during each of 20 or more calendar workweeks, while the applicable definition of "small business" under the Administrative Procedures Act is limited to entities that employ 50 or fewer employees. Thus, the small businesses to which the OFLA-related rules apply are limited to those employing between 25 and 50 employees. According to the Oregon Employment Department (OED), there are nearly 165,000 small businesses in Oregon with at least one payroll employee, though nearly 92% of those small businesses have fewer than 20 employees. Based on the OED data, the Bureau estimates that there are fewer than 8,000 Oregon businesses with more than 25 employees, but fewer than 50, to which the OFLA-related changes will apply. All 165,000 small businesses with at least one payroll employee will be affected by the sick leaverelated changes to the rules. As indicated above, these rule amendments largely operate to implement recent legislation, while clarifying existing law. Employers subject to the above-described thresholds must currently engage in reporting, record keeping and administrative activities to comply with OFLA, Sick Leave and other employment-related laws, including Paid Leave Oregon. Similarly, except for the above-referenced updating of forms and policies and eligibility for additional leave, the Bureau does not anticipate additional costs of professional services, equipment supplies, labor and increased administration necessary to comply with these rule amendments.

DESCRIBE HOW SMALL BUSINESSES WERE INVOLVED IN THE DEVELOPMENT OF THESE RULE(S):

Small businesses, as well as all members of the public, are invited to comment on these rules. In addition, the Bureau will post notice of this rulemaking on its webpage and in the Oregon bulletin, while also disseminating this notice to the Bureau's mailing list.

WAS AN ADMINISTRATIVE RULE ADVISORY COMMITTEE CONSULTED? NO IF NOT, WHY NOT?

Chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024 became effective on March 20, 2024, and many of its provisions become operative on July 1, 2024. As indicated above, the OFLA-related rules apply to nearly 8,000 employers and at least 200,000 employees. Given the breadth of impacts included in chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024, the resources available to the Bureau and the need to timely adopt rules in advance of July 1, 2024, it is likely that providing this notice to business organizations, labor organizations and the public at large, will efficiently surface feedback from the persons and communities likely to be affected by the rule.

RULES PROPOSED:

839-001-0250, 839-005-0026, 839-006-0131, 839-006-0136, 839-007-0020, 839-007-0045, 839-009-0200, 839-009-0210, 839-009-0215, 839-009-0220, 839-009-0230, 839-009-0235, 839-009-0240, 839-009-0245, 839-009-0250, 839-009-0260, 839-009-0265, 839-009-0270, 839-009-0280, 839-009-0290, 839-009-0300, 839-009-0320, 839-014-0630

AMEND: 839-001-0250

RULE SUMMARY: Amends rule relating to OFLA to conform to chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-001-0250 Deductions for Costs of Benefits Paid by the Employer While the Employee Is on OFLA Leave \P

The Oregon Family Leave Act (ORS 659.470 to 659.494) provides that notwithstanding 652.610(3), when an employer pays the employee's portion of the cost of providing health, disability, life or other insurance coverage for an employee while the employee is on family leave, the employer may recover such cost under the following circumstances:¶

(1) Upon the employee's return to work, the employer may deduct from the employee's pay the amount of the costs it paid, provided, however, that the total amount deducted from any paycheck may not exceed 10% of the employee's gross wages earned in the pay period covered by the paycheck.¶

(2) If an employee does not return to work, the employer may deduct all of the costs it paid from amounts due and owing to the employee, provided, however, that no deduction may be made if the employee fails to return to work for the following reasons:¶

(a) The employee's absence from work is caused by a continuation, recurrence or onset of a serious health condition that would entitle the employee to family leave as provided for in ORS 659.470 to 659.494 FLA or to benefits under ORS chapter 657B; or¶

(b) The employee's absence from work is caused by circumstances beyond the control of the employee.¶ (3) If an employee does not return to work the employer may seek to recover amounts paid for insurance coverage on behalf of the employee by any other legal means provided however, that no legal action may be initiated if the employee failed to return to work for the reasons set out in subsections (2)(a) or (2)(b) of this rule.¶ (4) The deduction provided for in this rule may be made with or without the employee's authorization. The

employer shall notify the employee of the deduction before the deduction is made.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 651.060(4), ORS 659A.805

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 659:484A.171

RULE SUMMARY: Amends rule to include reference to laws other than OFLA that provide employment-related protections to pregnant persons.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-005-0026

Employment Protections and Rights Relating to Pregnancy \P

(1) Pregnant people are protected from sex discrimination in employment. \P

(2) ORS 659A prohibits discrimination regarding employee and dependent spouse or domestic partner benefits for pregnancy when employee and dependent spouse or domestic partner benefits exist for other medical conditions.¶

(3) An employee needing to be absent from work because of pregnancy or childbirth may have rights under the Oregon Family Leave Act, as provided in<u>Sick Leave under</u> ORS 659A.150 to 659A.186 and OAR 839-009-0200 to 839-009-03203.601 to 653.661, Paid Leave under ORS chapter 657B, ORS 659A.146 and 659A.147 or the

federal Pregnant Workers Fairness Act.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 651.060, ORS 659A.805

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 659A.029, <u>ORS</u> 659A.030, <u>ORS</u> 659A.150-.186, OL CH. 139, 2019<u>47</u>, ORS 659A.148

RULE SUMMARY: Amends rule applicable to injured workers to implement OFLA-related provisions of chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-006-0131

Injured Workers: Loss of Reinstatement Rights Under ORS 659A.043 \P

(1) An injured worker meeting the requirements for reinstatement under ORS 659A.043 loses the right to reinstatement to the worker's former position when any of the following occurs:¶

(a) A medical determination by the attending physician or, after an appeal of such determination, by a medical arbiter or panel of medical arbiters pursuant to ORS chapter 656, that the worker cannot return to the former position of employment;¶

(b) The worker is eligible for and participates in vocational assistance under ORS 656.340;¶

(c) The worker accepts suitable employment with another employer after becoming medically stationary;

(d) The worker refuses a bona fide offer from the employer of light duty of modified employment which is suitable prior to becoming medically stationary, except as provided under section (2) of this rule;¶

(e) Seven days elapse from the date that the worker is notified by the insurer or self-insured employer by certified mail that the worker's attending physician or an authorized nurse practitioner has released the worker for employment unless the worker requests reinstatement within that time period;¶

(f) Three years elapse from the date of injury;¶

(g) The worker is discharged for bona_fide reasons not connected with the injury and for which others are or would be discharged; or¶

(h) The worker clearly and unequivocally abandons employment with the employer. \P

(2) A worker who refuses an offer of employment under subsection (1)(d) of this rule and who otherwise is entitled to Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA)FLA pregnancy disability leave under ORS 659A.150 to 659A.186:¶

(a) Automatically commences a period of OFLA <u>pregnancy disability</u> leave upon refusing the offer of employment; and **¶**

(b) Need not give <u>additional</u> notice to the employer that would otherwise be required under OAR 839-009-0250 that the employee is commencing a period of OFLA leave. See ORS 659A.162 and 659A.043<u>pregnancy disability</u> <u>leave</u>.¶

(3) The right to reinstatement does not apply to: \P

(a) A worker hired on a temporary basis as a replacement for an injured worker; \P

(b) A seasonal worker hired for and actually employed for less than six months in a calendar year; or ¶

(c) A worker whose employment at the time of injury resulted from referral to short-term employment from a hiring hall operating pursuant to a collective bargaining agreement.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 659A.805, ORS 651.060

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 659A.150 - ORS 659A.186, ORS 659A.043

RULE SUMMARY: Amends rule applicable to injured workers to implement OFLA-related provisions of chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-006-0136

Injured Workers: Loss of Reemployment Rights Under ORS 659A.046 \P

An injured worker meeting the requirements for reemployment under ORS 659A.046 loses the right to reemployment to an available, suitable position when any of the following occurs:¶

(1) A medical determination by the attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner or, after an appeal of such determination, by a medical arbiter or panel of medical arbiters pursuant to ORS chapter 656, that the worker cannot return to any position of reemployment with the employer.¶

(2) The worker is eligible for and participates in vocational assistance under ORS 656.340;¶

(3) The worker accepts suitable employment with another employer after becoming medically stationary;

(4) The worker refuses a bona fide offer from the employer of light duty or modified employment that is suitable prior to becoming medically stationary. Except that a worker who refuses an offer of employment under this section, and who otherwise is entitled to Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA)FLA pregnancy disability leave under ORS 659A.150 to 659A.186:¶

(a) Automatically commences a period of OFLA <u>pregnancy disability</u> leave upon refusing the offer of employment; and **¶**

(b) Need not give <u>additional</u> notice to the employer that would otherwise be required under OAR 839-009-0250 that the employee is commencing a period of OFLA leave. See ORS 659A.162 and 659A.046; pregnancy disability leave.¶

(5) Seven days elapse from the date that the worker is notified by the insurer or self-insured employer by certified mail that the worker's attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner has released the worker for reemployment unless the worker requests reemployment within that time period;¶

(6) Three years elapse from the date of injury;¶

(7) The worker is discharged for bona fide reasons not connected with the injury and for which others are or would be discharged; or¶

(8) The worker clearly and unequivocally abandons employment with the employer.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 659A.805, ORS 651.060

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 659A.046, 659A.150-659A.186

RULE SUMMARY: Amends Sick Leave-related rule to conform to OFLA-related amendments in chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-007-0020

Permissible Use of Sick Time \P

Pursuant to ORS 653.616 and these rules an employee may use sick time for any of the following:¶ (1) For an employee's mental or physical illness, injury or health condition; need for medical diagnosis, care or treatment of a mental or physical illness, injury or health condition; or need for preventive medical care.¶ (2) For care of a family member with a mental or physical illness, injury or health condition; care of a family member who needs medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of a mental or physical illness, injury or health condition; or care of a family member who needs preventive medical care.¶

(3) For the following purposes specified inunder ORS 659A.159:

(a) To care for an infant or newly adopted child under 18 years of age, or for a newly placed foster child under 18 years of age, or for an adopted or foster child older than 18 years of age if the child is incapable of self-care because of a mental or physical disability. Leave under this subsection must be completed within 12 months after birth or placement of the child, and an eligible employee is not entitled to to 59A.186:¶

(a) For bereavement leave, child placement leave or pregnancy period of leave under this subsection after the expiration of 12 months after birth or placement of the child.¶

(b) To care for a family member with a serious health condition as defined in OAR 839-009-0210.¶ (c) To recover from or seek treatment for a serious health condition of the employee as defined in OAR 839-009-0210 that renders the employee unable to perform at least one of the essential functions of the employee's regular position disability leave, as those terms are described in OAR 839-009-0230.¶

(db) To care for a child of the employee who is suffering from an illness, injury or condition that is not a serious health condition as defined in OAR 839-009-0210, but that requires home care or who requires home care. (e) To deal with the death of a family member within 60 days of the date on which the eligible employee receives notice of the death of a family member by:

(A) Attending the funeral or alternative to a funeral of the family member;¶

(B) Making arrangements necessitated by the death of the family member; or¶

(C) Grieving the d due to the closure of the child's school or child care provider as a result of a public health of the family memberemergency.

(4) For the following purposes specified in ORS 659A.272:¶

(a) To seek legal or law enforcement assistance or remedies to ensure the health and safety of the employee or the employee's minor child or dependent, including preparing for and participating in protective order proceedings or other civil or criminal legal proceedings related to domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking.¶
(b) To seek medical treatment for or to recover from injuries caused by domestic violence or sexual assault to or harassment or stalking of the eligible employee or the employee's minor child or dependent.¶

(c) To obtain, or to assist a minor child or dependent in obtaining, counseling from a licensed mental health professional related to an experience of domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault or stalking.¶

(d) To obtain services from a victim services provider for the eligible employee or the employee's minor child or dependent.¶

(e) To relocate, pursuant to OAR 839-009-0345, or take steps to secure an existing home to ensure the health and safety of the eligible employee or the employee's minor child or dependent.¶

(5) To donate accrued sick time to another employee if the other employee uses the donated sick time for a purpose specified in this rule and the employer has a policy that allows an employee to donate sick time to a coworker for a purpose specified in this rule.¶

(6) In the event of a public health emergency, including, but not limited to: \P

(a) Closure of the employee's place of business, or the school or place of care of the employee's child, by order of a public official due to a public health emergency;¶

(b) A determination by a lawful public health authority or by a health care provider that the presence of the employee or the family member of the employee in the community would jeopardize the health of others, such that the employee must provide self-care or care for the family member;¶

(c) The exclusion of the employee from the workplace under any law or rule that requires the employer to exclude the employee from the workplace for health reasons;¶

(d) The following public health emergencies are permissible uses of sick leave unless the employee is employed as a first responder:¶

(A) An emergency evacuation order of level 2 (SET) or level 3 (GO) issued by a public official with the authority to do so, if the affected area subject to the order includes either the location of the employer's place of business or the employee's home address; or ¶

(B) A determination by a public official with the authority to do so that the air quality index or heat index are at a level where continued exposure to such levels would jeopardize the health of the employee.¶

(7) For purposes authorized under ORS chapter 657B, including during periods of time the absence for which paid sick leave is taken also qualifies as family or medical leave taken pursuant to ORS chapter 657B.¶

(8) Sick time provided pursuant to the Oregon Family Leave Act in ORS 659A.159 or Domestic Violence Leave in 659A.272 runs concurrently with sick time provided pursuant to ORS 653.601 to 653.661.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 651.060, ORS 653.601-653.661

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 653.601-653.661

RULE SUMMARY: Amends Sick Leave-related rule to conform to OFLA-related amendments in chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-007-0045

Verification and Certification for Sick Time Use \P

(1) If an employee uses sick time for more than three consecutive scheduled workdays:

(a) For a purpose provided in ORS 653.616(1) or (2) or ORS 659A.159(1)($\frac{b}{(d)a}$) or 659A.162 the employer may require the employee to provide verification within 15 calendar days from a health care provider of the need for the sick time.

(b) For purposes of ORS 653.616(4) for use of sick time for a purpose specified in ORS 659A.272 relating to domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault, bias or stalking, the employer may require the employee to provide certification of the need for leave as provided in ORS 659A.280.¶

(2) "Three consecutive scheduled workdays" means three consecutive scheduled workdays, not including scheduled days off. For example, if an employee is scheduled to work Monday, Wednesday, and Friday only, and the employee uses sick time for all three days, the employee has used sick time for three consecutive scheduled workdays.¶

(3) If an employee commences sick time without providing prior notice required by the employer under OAR 839-007-0040: \P

(a) Medical verification shall be provided to the employer within 15 calendar days after the employer requests the verification; or \P

(b) Certification as specified in ORS 659A.280 for the purposes of ORS 659A.272 relating to domestic violence, harassment, sexual assault, bias or stalking shall be provided to the employer within a reasonable time after the employee receives the request for certification.¶

(4) If the need for sick time is foreseeable and projected to last more than three scheduled workdays and an employee is required to provide notice under ORS 653.621 and OAR 839-007-0040, the employer may require that verification or certification be provided before the sick time commences or as soon as otherwise practicable.¶

(5) An employer must pay any reasonable costs for providing any medical verification or certification required, including lost wages, that are not paid under a health benefit plan in which the employee is enrolled.¶
(6) An employer may not require that any verification or certification required explain the nature of the illness or details related to the domestic violence, sexual assault, harassment, or stalking that necessitates the use of sick time.¶

(7) If an employer obtains health information about an employee or an employee's family member, such information shall be treated as confidential to the extent provided by law.¶

(8) If an employee fails to provide verification or certification as required by ORS 653.626 and these rules, the employer is not required to pay for the use of sick time for the absence taken until the employee provides verification or certification verifying that the absence was for a qualifying reason as defined by ORS 653.616 and these rules. The employer may discipline the employee for violating policies and procedures but not for using sick time.¶

(9) If an employer reasonably suspects that an employee is abusing sick time, including engaging in a pattern of abuse, the employer may require verification from a health care provider of the need of the employee to use sick time, regardless of whether the employee has used sick time for more than three consecutive days. As used in this section, "pattern of abuse" includes, but is not limited to, repeated use of unscheduled sick time on or adjacent to weekends, holidays, vacation days or paydays.¶

(10) When an employee uses sick time to care for a family member who is related by affinityn individual related by blood or affinity whose close association with the eligible employee is the equivalent of a family relationship, the employer may require the employee to attest in writing that the employee and the person cared for have a significant personal bond that, when examined under the totality of the circumstances, is like a family relationship. An employer that requires a written attestation must provide an attestation form to the employee. The form need not be notarized, must be in the language typically used by the employer to communicate with the employee and may include the following provisions:¶

I, (full name) ______, share a significant bond with (name of other person) ______ and they are like a family member to me.¶

¶

Any facts about your relationship can make it like a family. Common examples include:¶

(A) Shared personal financial responsibility, including shared leases, common ownership of real or personal property, joint liability for bills or beneficiary designations;¶

(B) Emergency contact designation of the employee by the other individual in the relationship or the emergency contact designation of the other individual in the relationship by the employee;¶

(C) The expectation to provide care because of the relationship or the prior provision of care;¶

(D) Cohabitation and its duration and purpose;¶

(E) Geographic proximity; and \P

(F) Other factors that demonstrate the existence of a family-like relationship.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 653.601-653.661, ORS 651.060

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 653.601-653.661

REPEAL: 839-009-0200

RULE SUMMARY: Repeals rule describing purpose and scope of OFLA rules.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-009-0200

Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA): Purpose and Scope-

(1) The Civil Rights Division of the Bureau of Labor and Industries enforces the Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA), ORS 659A.150 to 659A.186, which provides for OFLA leave and prohibits discrimination against employees using OFLA leave. These rules implement and interpret the Oregon Family Leave Act.¶

(2) These rules apply to complaints and inquiries received under ORS 659A.150 to 659A.186 and under these rules.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 659A.805

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 659A.150 - 659A.186

RULE SUMMARY: Amends OFLA definitions to implement Chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-009-0210 OFLA: Definitions ¶

As used in this Division 9:¶

(1) "Alternate duty" means work assigned to an employee that may consist of: \P

(a) The employee's same duties worked on a different schedule; or¶

(b) Different duties worked on the same or different schedule.¶

(2)(a) "Affinity" means a relationship for which there is a significant personal bond that, when examined under the totality of the circumstances, is like a family relationship.¶

(b) The bond described in subsection (a) of this section may be demonstrated by, but is not limited to the following factors, with no single factor being determinative:¶

(A) Shared personal financial responsibility, including shared leases, common ownership of real or personal property, joint liability for bills or beneficiary designations;¶

(B) Emergency contact designation of the employee by the other individual in the relationship or the emergency contact designation of the other individual in the relationship by the employee; \P

(C) The expectation to provide care because of the relationship or the prior provision of care; \P

(D) Cohabitation and its duration and purpose;¶

(E) Geographic proximity; and ¶

(F) Any other factor that demonstrates the existence of a family-like relationship. \P

(3) "Child," means the eligible employee's biological, adopted, foster or stepchild, the child of the employee's spouse or domestic partner or a child with whom the employee is or was in a relationship of in loco parentis. For purposes of parchild placemental leave and sick child leave only, the child must be:¶

(a) Under the age of 18; or \P

(b) An adult dependent child substantially limited by a physical or mental impairment as defined by ORS 659A.104 (1)(a), (3), and (4).¶

(4) "Child care provider" for the purpose of sick child leave during a statewide public health emergency declared by a public health official means a place of care or person who cares for a child.¶

(a) A person who cares for a child includes but is not limited to individuals paid to provide child care, for example nannies, au pairs, and babysitters or individuals who provide child care at no cost and without a license on a regular basis, for example, grandparents, aunts, uncles, or neighbors.¶

(b) Place of care is a physical location in which care is provided for a child including but not limited to day care facilities, preschools, before and after school care programs, schools, homes, summer camps, summer enrichment programs, and respite care programs. The physical location does not have to be solely dedicated to such care.¶ (5) "Closure" for the purpose of sick child leave during a statewide public health emergency declared by a public health official means a closure that is ongoing, intermittent, or recurring and restricts physical access to the child's school or child care provider.¶

(6) "Covered employer" means any employer employing 25 or more persons in the state of Oregon for each working day during each of 20 or more calendar work weeks in the year in which the leave is to be taken or in the year immediately preceding the year in which the leave is to be taken.¶

(7)(a) "Eligible employee" means an employee described in ORS 659A.156 who is employed in the State of Oregon on the date OFLA leave begins.¶

(b) To determine the number of days an employee has worked, the employer must count the number of days an employee is maintained on the payroll, including all time paid or unpaid. If an employee continues to be employed by a successor in interest to the original employer, the number of days worked are counted as continuous employment by a single employer.¶

(c) To determine an employee's average hours of work per week, the employer must count any hours of protected leave taken, including OFLA leave, as well as actual hours worked using guidelines set out pursuant to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act.¶

(d) For eligibility of employees reemployed following a period of uniformed service: \P

(A) The federal Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Act, 38 USC 243 (USERRA) provides that an employee reemployed following a period of uniformed service is entitled to the seniority and seniority-based rights and benefits that the employee had on the date the uniformed service began, plus any seniority and seniority-based rights and benefits that the employee would have attained if the employee had remained continuously employed. U.S. Department of Labor regulation 20 CFR 21002.210 provides that in determining

entitlement to seniority and seniority-based rights and benefits, the period of absence from employment due to or necessitated by uniformed service is not considered a break in employment. The rights and benefits protected by USERRA upon reemployment include those provided by the employer and those required by statute. Under USERRA, a reemployed service member would be eligible for leave under OFLA if the number of days and the number of hours of work for which the service member was employed by the civilian employer, together with the number of days and number of hours of work for which the service, meet OFLA's eligibility requirements. In the event that a service member is denied OFLA leave for failing to satisfy the OFLA days and hours of work requirement due to absence from employment necessitated by uniformed service, the service member may have a cause of action under USERRA but not under OFLA.¶

NOTE: USERRA also applies to leave under the federal Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993, 29 USC 2601-2654 (FMLA).¶

(B) ORS 659A.082-659A.088 provides that an employee reemployed following a period of uniformed service is entitled to the seniority and seniority-based rights and benefits that the employee had on the date the uniformed service began, plus any seniority and seniority-based rights and benefits that the employee would have attained if the employee had remained continuously employed. In determining entitlement to seniority and seniority-based rights and benefits, the period of absence from employment due to or necessitated by uniformed service is not considered a break in employment. If a reemployed service member was eligible for leave under OFLA prior to the date uniformed service began, OFLA's eligibility requirements are considered met.¶

(e) For the purpose of qualifying as an eligible employee, the employee need not work solely in the state of Oregon.¶

(8) "Family member" means an individual related to an eligible employee by affinity or an individual who is an eligible employee's:¶

(a) Spouse or domestic partner;¶

(b) Child or the child's spouse or domestic partner;¶

(c) Parent or the parent's spouse or domestic partner;¶

(d) Sibling or stepsibling or the sibling's or stepsibling's spouse or domestic partner; \P

(e) Grandparent or the grandparent's spouse or domestic partner; or \P

(f) Grandchild or the grandchild's spouse or domestic partner. \P

(9) "FMLA" is the federal Family and Medical Leave Act, 29 USC 22601.

(10) "Foreseeable leave" means <u>OFLA</u> leave taken for a purpose set out in ORS 659A.159 that is not "unforeseeable leave."¶

(11) "Foster child" means a child, not adopted, but being reared as a result of legal process, by a person other than the child's biological parent. \P

(12) "Gender" means an individual's assigned sex at birth, gender identity, or gender expression.¶

(13) "Gender expression" means the manner in which an individual's gender identity is expressed, including, but not limited to, through dress, appearance, manner, speech, or lifestyle, whether or not that expression is different from that traditionally associated with the individual's assigned sex at birth.¶

(14) "Gender identity" has the meaning given that term in ORS 174.100¶

(15) "Health care provider" has the meaning given that term in ORS 659A.150.¶

(16) "In loco parentis" means in the place of a parent, having financial or day-to-day responsibility for the care of a child. A legal or biological relationship is not required.¶

(17) "Intermittent leave" means leave taken in multiple blocks of time and/or requiring an altered or reduced work schedule including but not limited to sick child leave taken requiring an altered or reduced work schedule because the intermittent or recurring closure of a child's school or child care provider due to a statewide public health emergency declared by a public health official.¶

(18) "OFLA" is the Oregon Family Leave Act, ORS 659A.150 to 659A.186. \P

(19)(a) "OFLA leave" means a leave of absence for purposes described in ORS 659A.15 $\frac{90}{10}$ to 659A.186 and OAR 839-009-0230(1) through (5). Except that <u>¶</u>

(b) "OFLA leave" does not include leave taken by an eligible employee who is unable to work because of a disabling compensable injury, as defined in ORS 656.005, unless the <u>leave qualifies as OFLA pregnancy disability leave and the employee</u> refuses a bona fide offer from the employer of light duty or modified employment that is suitable prior to becoming medically stationary under ORS 659A.043(3)(a)(D) and 659A.043(4) or 659A.046(3)(d) and 659A.046(5) or 659A.046(3)

(20) "Parent" means:¶

(a) An eligible employee's biological parent, adoptive parent, stepparent or current or former foster parent or a person who was or is the eligible employee's legal guardian or with whom the eligible employee was or is in a relationship of in loco parentis; or¶

(b) The parent of the eligible employee's spouse or domestic partner who meets a description in subsection (a) of

this section.¶

(21) "Public health emergency" has the meaning given that term in ORS 659A.150.¶

(22) "Serious health condition" means an illness, injury, impairment or physical or mental condition of an employee or family member:¶

(a) That requires inpatient care in a medical care facility such as a hospital, hospice or residential facility such as a nursing home. When a family member resides in a long-term residential care facility, leave applies only to: (A) Transition periods spent moving the family member from one home or facility to another, including time to make arrangements for such transitions;

(B) Transportation or other assistance required for a family member to obtain care from a physician; or ¶ (C) Serious health conditions as described in (b) through (h) of this paragraph.¶

(b) That the treating health care provider judges to pose an imminent danger of death, or that is terminal in prognosis with a reasonable possibility of death in the near future;¶

(c) That requires constant or continuing care such as home care administered by a health care professional; (d) That involves a period of incapacity. Incapacity is the inability to perform at least one essential job function, or to attend school or perform regular daily activities for more than three consecutive calendar days and any subsequent required treatment or recovery period relating to the same condition. This incapacity must involve: (A) Two or more treatments by a health care provider; or

(B) One treatment plus a regimen of continuing care.¶

(e) That results in a period of incapacity or treatment for a chronic serious health condition that requires periodic visits for treatment by a health care provider, continues over an extended period of time, and may cause episodic rather than a continuing period of incapacity, such as asthma, diabetes or epilepsy;¶

(f) That involves permanent or long-term incapacity due to a condition for which treatment may not be effective, such as Alzheimer's disease, a severe stroke or terminal stages of a disease. The employee or family member must be under the continuing care of a health care provider, but need not be receiving active treatment;¶

(g) That involves multiple treatments for restorative surgery or for a condition such as chemotherapy for cancer, physical therapy for arthritis, or dialysis for kidney disease that if not treated would likely result in incapacity of more than three days; or¶

(h) That involves any period of disability due to pregnancy, including childbirth or pregnancy termination, or a period of absence for prenatal care, including fertility or infertility treatment.¶

(23) "Spouse" includes:¶

(a) Individuals in a marriage recognized under state law in the state in which the marriage was entered into;¶ (b) Individuals in a marriage validly performed in a foreign jurisdiction;¶

(c) Individuals in a common law marriage that was entered into in a state that recognizes such marriages; and ¶
 (d) Individuals who have lawfully established a civil union, domestic partnership or similar relationship under the laws of any state. Individuals described in this subsection are not required to obtain a marriage license, establish a record of marriage or solemnize their relationship.¶

(243) "Unforeseeable leave" means leave taken as a result of:¶

(a) An unexpected serious health condition of an employee or family member of an employee; or¶ (b) An unexpected illness, injury or condition of a child of the employee that requires home care;¶ (c) A premature birth or a placement for adoption or foster care the exact date of which cannot be previously determined with certainty; or¶

(d) The death of a family memberOFLA pregnancy disability leave, bereavement leave or leave taken as a result of an unexpected illness, injury or condition of a child of the employee that requires home care.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 659A.805, ORS 651.060

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 659A.150 - 659A.186, ORS 659A.043, ORS 659A.046

ADOPT: 839-009-0215

RULE SUMMARY: Adopts OFLA rule to address transition of job protections from OFLA to Paid Leave Oregon, pursuant to chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024.

CHANGES TO RULE:

<u>839-009-0215</u>

OFLA: Leave Previously Protected by OFLA

(1) As used in this rule, "leave previously protected by OFLA" means leave:

(a) To which an eligible employee would be entitled under ORS 659A.150 to 659A.186 on June 30, 2024; and ¶ (b) To which an eligible employee would not be entitled under ORS 659A.150 to 659A.186, on July 1, 2024.¶ (2) A covered employer may rescind a designation or approval of leave previously protected by OFLA that is scheduled to occur on or after July 1, 2024.¶

(3) A covered employer who has designated or approved leave previously protected by OFLA that is scheduled to occur on or after July 1, 2024:¶

(a) Must, as soon as practicable but no later than June 1, 2024, notify the employee in writing, in the language the employer typically uses to communicate with the employee, that the leave is not protected by OFLA on and after July 1, 2024; and ¶

(b) May not retaliate or in any way discriminate against the employee with respect to hire or tenure or any other term or condition of employment because the employee has inquired about the provisions of OFLA, submitted a request for OFLA leave, or invoked any provision of OFLA.¶

(4) A covered employer must provide written information to an employee that informs the employee of the ability to apply for benefits under ORS chapter 657B, including contact information for Paid Leave Oregon or the administrator of the employer's equivalent plan:

(a) Concurrently if the employer rescinds the employee's previous OFLA designation or approval, as described in section (2) of this rule; and **¶**

(b) As soon as practicable but within 14 calendar days of the employee providing the employer with information that, before July 1, 2024, would have been sufficient for the employer to provisionally designate the leave as leave previously protected by OFLA.

(5) A covered employer may comply with section (4) of this rule by providing the employee with the notice made available by the Director of the Employment Department described in ORS 657B.440, in the language the employer typically uses to communicate with the employee.¶

(6) This rule does not relieve an employer from the obligation to comply with other laws, including the Family and Medical Leave Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act, ORS 659A.103 to 659A.146 and 659A.147 and ORS 653.601 to 653.661, when the employer is notified of the employee's need for leave that was previously protected by OFLA.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 651.060, ORS 659A.805, Section 22, chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024 Statutes/Other Implemented: Section 22, chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024, ORS 659A.150 to 659A.186

RULE SUMMARY: Amends rule to clarify relationship between OFLA and other leave laws.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-009-0220

OFLA: Relationship to Other Laws ¶

(1) Leave taken under FMLA counts as OFLA leave provided the employee is also eligible for OFLA leave.¶
(2) Provisions of OFLA will be construed to the extent possible in a manner that is consistent with any similar provisions of FMLA; however, employers subject to both OFLA and FMLA must apply in a given leave situation the provision that is more beneficial to the employee's circumstances.¶

(3) When a covered employee takes leave under OFLA that also qualifies as family or medical leave taken pursuant to ORS chapter 657B, the provisions of ORS 659A.174 apply. An employer may not impair, by agreement or otherwise, the right of an employee on OFLA leave to utilize sick leave under the provisions of ORS 653.601 to 653.661.¶

(4) The provisions of ORS 657B.060 and 657B.070 apply during periods of time that include but are not limited to the application period described in OAR 471-070-1100.

(4<u>5</u>) A decision by the Director of the Employment Department, or a decision under an equivalent plan described in ORS 657B.210 to 657B.260, to deny family or medical leave under ORS chapter 657B is not a defense to the unlawful practice described in ORS 659A.183. A covered employer has an independent obligation to determine whether to deny or grant OFLA leave in accordance with ORS 659A.150 to 659A.186 and these rules. Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 659A.805<u>1.060</u>, ORS 651.060<u>9A.805</u>

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 659A.150 - 659A.186

RULE SUMMARY: Amends rule to conform administrative description of OFLA leave purposes to those described in chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-009-0230 OFLA: Purposes for Taking Leave ¶

Eligible employees may take OFLA leave, including OFLA leave taken pursuant to ORS 657B.020, for the purposes commonly referred to as parental leave, serious health conditionchild placement leave, pregnancy disability leave, sick child leave, and the death of a family member.¶

(1) Parbereavement leave.¶

(1) Child placemental leave is leave taken for the birth of the employee's child, to care for the employee's newborn, newly adopted or newly placed foster child under 18 years of age or for a newly adopted or newly placed foster child 18 years of age or older who is incapable of self-care because of a physical or mental impairment. It includes leave time to effectuate the legal process required for placement of a foster child or the adoption of a child.¶

(2) Serious health condition leave is leave taken:¶

(a) To provide care for a family member with a serious health condition as defined in OAR 839-009-0210; or¶ (b) To recover from or seek treatment for a serious health condition that renders an employee unable to perform at least one essential function of the employee's regular position.¶

(3under OFLA before January 1, 2025, to effectuate the legal process required for placement of a foster child or the adoption of a child.¶

(2) Pregnancy disability leave is leave taken by an employee for their own disability related to pregnancy, including pregnancy termination or childbirth, whether the disability occurs before, during or after the birth of the child, or for prenatal care, including fertility or infertility treatment. Pregnancy disability leave is a form of serious health condition leave.¶

(4<u>3</u>) Sick child leave is leave taken to care for an employee's child suffering from an illness, injury, or condition that requires home care but is not a serious health condition.¶

(a) Sick child leave includes <u>absencleav</u>e to care for an employee's child whose school or child care provider has been closed in conjunction with a statewide public health emergency declared by a public health official.¶ (b) An employer is not required to grant <u>OFLA</u> leave for routine medical or dental appointments.¶

(54) <u>LBer</u>eave<u>ment leave is leave taken</u> to deal with the death of a family member i<u>and include</u>s leave taken to attend the funeral or alternative to a funeral of the family member, to make arrangements necessitated by the death of the family member, or to grieve the death of the family member.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 659A.805, ORS 651.060

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 659A.150 - 659A.186

RULE SUMMARY: Amends rule to conform OFLA leave year to ORS 659A.164 and chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-009-0235

OFLA: Leave Year

(1) For purposes of this Division 9, "OFLA leave year" has the meaning given the phrase "one-year period" in ORS 659A.164. \P

(2) If a covered employer transitions from any other leave year applicable to OFLA to an OFLA leave year of 52 consecutive weeks that begins on the Sunday immediately preceding the date on which family leave commences, all eligible employees of the covered employer must be provided with the full benefit of leave entitlement described in ORS 659A.150 to 659A.1862 at the beginning of the new OFLA leave year.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 651.060, ORS 659A.164, ORS 659A.805 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 659A.164

RULE SUMMARY: Amends OFLA rule to conform to chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-009-0240

OFLA: Length of Leave and Other Conditions of OFLA Leave \P

Except as specifically provided by ORS 657B.020:¶

(1(1)(a) An eligible employee is entitled to up to a total of 12 weeks of OFLA leave within any one-year period.¶ (2) In addition to the 12 weeks of leave authorized by ORS 659A.162 (1), an eligible employee may take a total of 12 weeks of, for sick child leave and bereavement leave, within the same of OFLA leave year for an illness, injury or condition related to pregnancy or childbirth that disables the employee from performing any available job duties offered by the employer. The employee may use all or part of the 12.¶

(b) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, an eligible employee is entitled to a total of two weeks of lbereave authorized by 659A.162(1) and all or part of the 12 weeks of pregnancy disability leave in any order. The employee need not exhaust either type of leave in order to use the other.¶

(3) An eligible employee taking the entire 12 weeks of OFLA leave authorized by ORS 659A.162 (1) for parental leave may take an additional 12 weeks of sick childment leave upon the death of each family member of the employee within an OFLA leave year, except that the eligible employee may not take more than four weeks of bereavement leave within the same an OFLA leave year. If the employee uses less ¶

(2) In addition to thane 12 weeks of parental leave, however, no additional sick child leave is available, except that the balance of the 12 weeks of OFLA leave authorized by ORS 659A.162 may be used for sick child leave or for any OFLA leave purpose.¶

(4) Aleave described in section (1) of this rule, an eligible employee may take upa to 36 weeks of OFLA leave in one leave year that includes up to tal of 12 weeks of OFLA pregnancy disability leave, 12 weeks of parental leave, and up to 12 weeks of sick child leave.

(5) An eligible employee may take up to 24 weeks of OFLA leave in one leave year under the following circumstances:¶

(a) The employee takes 12 weeks within the same OFLA leave year . The employee may use all ofr parental leave, followed by:¶

(b) Up to 12 weeks of sick child leave.¶

(6) An eligible employee may receive notice of the death of a family member by any means and from any source.¶ (7) Two or more eligible employees who are family members of each other as defined in OAR 839-009-0210, working for the same covered employer, may take OFLA leave at the same time with that covered employer for the same qualifying event only under the following circumstances:¶

(a) One eligible family member needs to care for another eligible family member who is suffering from a serious health condition;¶

(b) One eligible family member needs to care for a child suffering from a serious or non-serious health condition while another eligible family member is suffering from a serious health condition; t of the 12 weeks of leave described in section (1) of this rule and all or part of the 12 weeks of OFLA pregnancy disability leave in any order. The employee need not exhaust either type of leave in order to use the other.

 $(\epsilon_{\underline{3}})$ Two or more eligible family members are suffering from one or more serious health conditions;

(d) The employer allows family members to take concurrent leave; or¶

(e) The eligible family members are taking leave for the death of a family member pursuant to ORS 659A.159(1)(e) and OAR 839-009-0230(5).¶

(8) Unless the covered employer approves otherwise, parental leave shall be taken in one uninterrupted period, and shall be completed within 12 months of the birth, adoption or placement of the child. Exceptions shall be made:¶

(a) To allow intermittent parental leave to effectuate adoption or foster placement<u>In addition to the 24 weeks of</u> <u>leave authorized by sections (1) and (2) of this rule, an eligible employee is entitled to a total of two weeks</u> of a child. Parental leave taken to effectuate adoption or foster placement of a child is part of the total amount of parental leave available to the employee, but need not be taken in one, uninterrupted period with any remaining parental leave taken after the actual placement of the child.¶

(b) To allow parental leave to attend the birth of or give birth to the employee's child. Such leave need not be taken in one, uninterrupted period with any remaining parental leave taken after the birth of the child. placement leave within an OFLA leave year. This section (3) of this rule does not apply on or after January 1, 2025. ¶

(9<u>4</u>) The birth, adoption or foster placement of multiple children at one time entitles the employee to take only one <u>12two</u>-week period of parchild placemental leave.¶

(10 This section (4) of this rule does not apply on or after January 1, 2025.¶

(5) A covered employer need not grant sick child leave to an eligible employee if another family member of the child is willing and able to care for the child.¶

(116) A covered employer may not reduce the amount of OFLA leave available to an eligible employee under this section by any period the employee is unable to work because of a disabling compensable injury as defined in ORS 656.005.¶

(a) If an employee uses OFLA <u>pregnancy disability</u> leave for a workplace injury pending acceptance of a workers' compensation claim, upon acceptance of the claim any OFLA <u>pregnancy disability</u> leave used for the workplace injury must be restored to the employee. If the claim is denied, OFLA <u>pregnancy disability</u> leave will be deducted from the employee's entitlement.¶

(b) If a worker's compensation claim is first denied and then accepted, the employer must restore any OFLA <u>pregnancy disability</u> leave taken for the condition covered by worker's compensation in the leave year in which the worker's compensation claim is accepted.¶

(c) Notwithstanding this rule, the employer may reduce the amount of OFLA leave available to an eligible employee under this section by any period the employee is unable to work because of a disabling compensable injury as defined in ORS 656.005 after the employee has refused a suitable offer of light duty or modified employment under ORS 659A.043 (3)-(a)-(D) or 659A.046(3)(d).¶

(d) An employee unable to work for an employer because of a disabling compensable injury arising out of and in the course of employment for that employer, but who is also employed by and able to work for another employer, may be eligible and qualify to use OFLA <u>pregnancy disability</u> leave under the other employer.¶

(<u>127</u>) For the purpose of intermittent leave, OFLA leave entitlement is calculated for an employee by multiplying the number of hours <u>in</u> the employee's normally works per week by <u>12</u>. (For example, an employee normally employed to work 30 hours per week is entitled to 12 times 30 hours, or a total of 360 hours OFLA intermittent leave; an employee normally employed to work 50 hours per week is entitled to 12 times 50 hours, or a total of <u>600 hours OFLA</u> intermittent leave.) the number of weeks for which the employee is eligible for each category of <u>OFLA</u>.¶

(a) If an employee's schedule varies from week to week, a weekly average of the hours worked over the 12 months worked prior to the beginning of the leave period must be used for calculating the employee's normal work week. (For example, an employee working an average of 25 hours per week is entitled to 12 times 25 hours, or a total of 300 hours OFLA leave.)¶

(b) If an employee takes intermittent or reduced work schedule OFLA leave, only the actual number of hours of leave taken may be counted toward the 12 weeks of OFLA leave to which the employee is entitled.¶ (13) A8) When an employee who has previously qualified for and taken some portion of OFLA leave must requalify as an "eligible employee" as defined in OAR 839-009-0210 each time the employee begins additional OFLA leave within the same leave year. Exceptions:¶

(a) An employee who has been granted OFLA requests OFLA leave, or when a covered employer acquires knowledge that an employee's leave may be for an OFLA-qualifying reason, the employer must notify the employee of the employee's eligibility to take OFLA leave within five business days, absent extenuating circumstances. Employee eligibility is determined, and notice must be provided, at the commencement of the first instance of leave for a each OFLA-qualifying serious health condition of the employee or family member need not requalify under OAR 839-009-0210 each time the employee takes leave for the same individual and the same serious health condition during the same leave year.¶

(b) Except as limited by ORS 657B.020reason in the OFLA leave year. All OFLA absences for the same qualifying reason are considered a single leave and employee eligibility as to that reason for leave does not change during the applicable 12-month period. Exceptions:¶

(A<u>a</u>) An eligible employee taking, in any order, some or all of 12 weeks of OFLA pregnancy disability leave and some or all of 12 weeks of OFLA leave for any other purpose, need not requalify under OAR 839-009-0210 each time sthe employee takes OFLA leave within the same leave year.¶

(Bb) An employee who has taken 12 two weeks of OFLA parchild placemental leave, need not requalify under OAR 839-009-0210 for up to an additional 12 weeks of leave within the same leave year when used for the purposes of OFLA sick child leave.¶

(c) An employee unable to work because of a disabling compensable injury as defined in ORS 656.005 need not requalify under OAR 839-009-0210 in order to use OFLA leave following a period the employee is off work due to the compensable injury.¶

(d<u>9</u>) A<u>When a</u>n employee who has taken serious health condition leave to care for a family member who dies during the employee's serious health condition leave, need not requalify under OAR 839-009-0210 to take leave for the death of that family member<u>r</u> is authorized by law to request additional information, other than information that constitutes medical verification, to verify whether leave is OFLA qualifying, the employer may provide the employee with a written request for information. The written request must be provided within five business days after the date on which the employee requests OFLA leave, or on which the employer acquires knowledge that an employee's leave may be for an OFLA-qualifying reason. Within five business days of receiving the requested information, the employer must notify the employee whether or not the employee is eligible and qualifies to take OFLA leave absent extenuating circumstances. If an employer determines that an employee does not qualify for OFLA leave for the reason requested, the employer must notify the employee in writing that the employee does not qualify. ¶

(10) When the written notice described in section (8) or (9) of this rule indicates that the employee does not qualify for OFLA leave, the notice must state that the employee is ineligible or that the reason for requested leave does not qualify for OFLA leave and at least one reason why the employee is not eligible or the reason does not qualify for leave.¶

(14<u>1</u>) An exempt employee is a salaried executive, administrative or professional employee under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (see 29 CFR 2541 through 541.315) or the state minimum wage and overtime laws (ORS chapters 652 and 653).¶

(a) When OFLA leave is also covered by FMLA and the employee takes intermittent leave in blocks of less than one day, if done in accordance with 29 CFR 2825.206, the employer may reduce the employee's salary for the part-day absence without the loss of the employee's exempt status in accordance with OAR 839-020-0004(30)(a2).¶

(b) When OFLA leave is not covered by FMLA (e.g., the employer has 25 to 49 employees, the leave is taken for a sick child, for the serious health condition of a parent-in-law, for the serious health condition of a registered domestic partner or for the serious health condition of a registered domestic partner's parents or for the death of a family member), and the employee takes intermittent leave in blocks of less than one day, an employer will jeopardize the employee's exempt status if the employer reduces the employee's salary for the part-day absence.¶

(15) The requirements of OFLA do not apply to any employer offering eligible employees a nondiscriminatory cafeteria plan, as defined by section 125 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, that provides as one of its options employee leave at least as generous as the leave required by OFLA.¶

(16, and the employee takes intermittent leave in blocks of less than one day, an employer will jeopardize the employee's exempt status if the employer reduces the employee's salary for the part-day absence.¶

(12) ORS 659A.150 to 659A.186 and these rules do not limit any right of an employee to any leave that is similar to the leave described in 695A.159(1) and OAR 839-009-0230 and to which the employee may be entitled under any agreement between the employer and the employee, collective bargaining agreement or employer policy.¶ (173) When an eligible employee takes bereavement leave under ORS 659A.150 to 659A.186 to care for, or to deal with the death of, a family member who is related by affinity an individual related by blood or affinity whose close association with the eligible employee is the equivalent of a family relationship, the employer may require the employee to attest in writing that the employee and the other person have a significant personal bond that, when examined under the totality of the circumstances, is like a family relationship. An employer that requires a written attestation must provide an attestation form to the employee. The form need not be notarized, must be in the language typically used by the employer to communicate with the employee and may include the following provisions:¶

I, (full name) ______, share a significant bond with (name of other person) ______ and they are like a family member to me.¶

Ŧ

Any facts about your relationship can make it like a family. Common examples include:¶

(A) Shared personal financial responsibility, including shared leases, common ownership of real or personal property, joint liability for bills or beneficiary designations;¶

(B) Emergency contact designation of the employee by the other individual in the relationship or the emergency contact designation of the other individual in the relationship by the employee;¶

(C) The expectation to provide care because of the relationship or the prior provision of care; \P

(D) Cohabitation and its duration and purpose;¶

(E) Geographic proximity; and \P

(F) Other factors that demonstrate the existence of a family-like relationship.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 659A.8051.060, ORS 651.0609A.805

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 659A.150 - 659A.186, ORS 659A.043, ORS 659A.046

RULE SUMMARY: Amends OFLA rule to conform to chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-009-0245

OFLA: Intermittent Leave and Alternate Duty \P

(1) An employer may transfer an employee on intermittent OFLA leave or a reduced work schedule into an alternate position with the same or different duties to accommodate the leave, provided the following exist: (a) The employee accepts the transfer position voluntarily and without coercion;

(b) The transfer is temporary, lasts no longer than necessary to accommodate the leave and has equivalent pay and benefits; \P

(c) The transfer is compliant with applicable collective bargaining agreements, as well as with state and federal law, providing including ORS 659A.146 and 659A.147 and all the employee protections found in FMLA regulations 29 CFR Part 825;¶

(d) Transfer to an alternate position is used only when there is no other reasonable option available that would allow the employee to use intermittent leave or reduced work schedule; and \P

(e) The transfer is not used to discourage the employee from taking intermittent or reduced work schedule leave, or to create a hardship for the employee. \P

(2) An employee transferred, as provided in section (1)(a) through (e) of this rule, to an alternate position for the purpose of a reduced work schedule must be returned to the employee's former position when the employee notifies the employer that the employee is ready to return to the former position at the end of the alternate duty leave. \P

(3) OFLA leave time for an employee on intermittent leave or a reduced work schedule is the difference between the number of hours the employee normally works and the number of hours the employee actually works during the intermittent leave or reduced work schedule. When it is physically impossible for an employee using intermittent leave or working a reduced leave schedule to commence or end work during a shift, such as when a flight attendant or a railroad conductor is scheduled to work aboard an airplane or train, or a laboratory employee is unable to enter or leave a sealed "clean room" during a certain period of time, the entire period of work from which the employee is forced to be absentre is designated as OFLA leave and counts against the employee's OFLA entitlement.¶

(4) Holidays or dDays in which the employer's business is not in operation are not counted toward intermittent or reduced work schedule OFLA leave.¶

(5) An employer may transfer an employee recovering from a serious health condition to an alternate position that accommodates the serious health conditionOFLA pregnancy disability leave provided:¶

(a) The employee accepts the position voluntarily and without coercion;¶

(b) The transfer is temporary, lasts no longer than necessary and has equivalent pay and benefits;¶

(c) The transfer is compliant with applicable collective bargaining agreements, as well as with state and federal law, providing including ORS 659A.146 and 659A.147 and all the employee protections found in FMLA regulations 29 CFR Part 825; and ¶

(d) The transfer is not used to discourage the employee from taking OFLA leave for a serious health condition, or to create a hardship for the employee.¶

(6) An employee is not on OFLA leave if the employee has been transferred - as provided in section (5)(a) through (d) of this rule - to an alternate position for the purpose of alternate work duties that the employee is able to perform within the limitations of the employee's own serious health condition<u>pregnancy disability</u>, but not requiring a reduced work week. An employee working in an alternate position retains the right to return to the employee's original position unless all OFLA leave taken in that leave year plus the period of time worked in the alternate position exceed 12 weeks.¶

(7) An alternate position accommodating an employee's serious health condat any time during the employee's OFLA leave. This section (6) does not impair the right of an employee to a reasonable accommodation or the application of any other state or federal law.¶

(7) An alternate position may result in the employee working fewer hours than the employee worked in the original position. The employee's OFLA leave is the difference between the number of hours the employee worked in the original position and the number of hours the employee actually works in the alternate position. (8) Intermittent leave for school teachers is subject to the special rules in OAR 839-009-0290.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 659A.805, 659A.162<u>1.060, ORS 659A.162, ORS 659A.805</u> Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 659A.150 - 659A.186

RULE SUMMARY: Amends OFLA rule to conform to chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-009-0250

 ${\sf OFLA: Notice by Employee; Designation by Employer; Notice by Employer Regarding Eligibility or Qualification \P}$

(1) Except as otherwise described in this rule, a covered employer may require an eligible employee to give 30 days' written notice of the need for foreseeable leave, including an explanation of the need for leave, before starting OFLA child placement leave or sick child leave. The employee is not required to specify that the request is for OFLA leave.¶

(2) When an employee is unable to give the employer 30 days' notice <u>of the need for child placement leave or sick</u> <u>child leave</u> but has some advance notice of the need for <u>the</u> leave, the employee must give the employer as much advance notice as is practicable.¶

(3) An employee able to give advance notice of the need to take OFLAchild placement leave or sick child leave must follow the employer's known, reasonable and customary procedures for requesting any kind of leave, absent unusual circumstances.¶

(4) When taking OFLA leave in an unforeseeable situation, an employee must give <u>verbor</u>al or written notice within 24 hours before or after commencement of the leave. This notice may be given by any other person on behalf of an employee taking unforeseeable OFLA leave. The employer may require written notice by the employee within three days of the employee's return to work.¶

(5)(a) Except as otherwise provided in OAR 839-009-0260 and subsection (de) of this section, an employer may request additional information to determine that a requested leave qualifies for designation as OFLA leave.¶ (b) The employer may provisionally designate an absence as OFLA leave until sufficient information is received to make a determination. A covered employer who receives written notice from the Oregon Employment Department, or other verbal or written notice, that an eligible employee has applied for Paid Leave under ORS chapter 657B, has received sufficient notice to provisionally designate an absence as OFLA leave until sufficient information is received sufficient notice to provisionally designate an absence as OFLA leave until sufficient information is received sufficient notice to provisionally designate an absence as OFLA leave until sufficient information is received to make a determination; provided, however, that if the absence is determined to be other than OFLA leave, the eligible employee's leave entitlement will be restored. An employee who calls in "sick" without providing further information will not be considered to have provided sufficient notice to trigger an employer's obligations under OFLA, unless the employer has reason to know the employee is attempting to invoke protected leave or the employer acquires knowledge that an employee's leave may be for an OFLA-qualifying reason.¶

(c) An employee on OFLA leave who needs to take more leave than originally authorized must give the employer reasonable notice prior to the end of the authorized leave, following the employer's known, reasonable and customary procedures for requesting any kind of leave. However, when an authorized period of OFLA leave has ended and an employee does not return to work, an employer having reason to believe the continuing absence may qualify as OFLA leave must request additional information, and may not treat a continuing absence as unauthorized unless requested information is not provided or does not support OFLA qualification.¶
(d) An eligible employee may receive notice of the death of a family member by any means and from any source. (e) An employer may not request additional information to verify lbereave for the death of a family memberment leave, except the employer may require the use of an attestation form described in OAR 839-011-0240 when the family member is related by affinity.¶

(6) When an employee fails to give notice of foreseeable leave as required by sections (1) and (2), and (3):¶ (a) If the leave qualifies under OFLA only and not under FMLA, the employer may reduce the total period of unused OFLA leave by an amount no greater than the number of days of leave the employee has taken without providing timely notice of leave. This reduction of leave may not exceed three weeks in a one-year leave period; and the employer may subject the employee to disciplinary action under a uniformly applied policy or practice of the employer.¶

(b) If the leave qualifies under FMLA only, FMLA regulations apply: 29 CFR I 825.302 (Employee Notice Requirements for Foreseeable FMLA Leave) and 29 CFR I 825.304 (Employee Failure to Provide Notice). FMLA regulation 29 CFR I 825.304 provides that an employer may delay coverage until up to 30 days after notice was received and the employer may take appropriate action under its internal rules and procedures for failure to follows its usual and customary notification rules, as long as the actions are taken in a manner that does not discriminate against employees taking FMLA leave.¶

(c) If the leave qualifies under both OFLA and FMLA the employer may: $\underline{\P}$

(c) If the leave qualifies under both OFLA and FMLA the employer may: ¶

(A) Delay FMLA coverage until up to 30 days after notice was received as permitted by the FMLA regulations at

29 CFR 2825.304 (this applies only to leave to which the employee is entitled under FMLA);¶

(B) Reduce the total period of unused OFLA leave by an amount no greater than the number of days of leave the employee has taken without providing timely notice of leave. This reduction of leave may not exceed three weeks in a one-year leave period (see ORS 659A.165). This applies only to leave to which the employee is entitled under OFLA; and ¶

(C) In addition to actions permitted under (A) and (B), the employer may also take appropriate action under its internal rules and procedures for failure to follow its usual and customary notification rules, <u>absent unusual</u> <u>circumstances</u>, as long as the actions are taken in a manner that does not discriminate against employees taking OFLA or FMLA leave.¶

(d) A reduction of OFLA leave under (6)(a) or (6)(c)(B) of this rule may not limit OFLA <u>lber</u>eave-<u>under ORS</u> 659A.159(1)(e) and OAR 839-009-0230(5) for the death of a family member<u>ment leave</u>.¶

(7) An employer may not reduce an employee's available OFLA leave or take disciplinary action under (6)(a) or (c) of this rule unless the employer has posted the required Bureau of Labor and Industries Family Leave Act notice or the employer can otherwise establish that the employee had actual knowledge of the notice requirement.¶
(8) If the qualifying purpose for which an eligible employee takes paid leave under ORS chapter 657B also constitutes a purpose for which OFLA can be taken, a covered employer may reduce the total period of leave described in 657B.020(2) and (3) by the number of days of paid leave taken.¶

(9) When an employer is authorized by law to request additional information, other than information that constitutes medical verification, to verify whether leave is OFLA qualifying, the employer may provide the employee with a written request for information. The written request must be provided within five business days of the date on which the employee requests OFLA leave, or on which the employer acquires knowledge that an employee's leave may be for an OFLA-qualifying reason. Within five business days of receiving the requested information, the employer must notify the employee whether or not the employee is eligible and qualifies to take OFLA leave absent extenuating circumstances. All OFLA absences for the same qualifying reason are considered a single leave event and employee qualification as to that reason for leave does not change during the applicable 12-month period unless the reason is no longer qualifying. If an employer determines that an employee does not qualify for OFLA leave for the reason requested, the employer must notify the employee in writing that the employee does not qualify.¶

(a) The written notice that the employee does not qualify must state that the employee is ineligible or the reason for requested leave does not qualify for OFLA leave and at least one reason why the employee is not eligible or the reason does not qualify for leave. An employee who has refused a suitable offer of light duty or modified employment under ORS 659A.043 or 659A.046 and who otherwise is entitled to OFLA pregnancy disability leave under OFLA:

(b<u>a</u>) If an employer determines that an employee does not qualify for OFLA leave for the reason requested because a medical verification is incomplete or insufficient, the written notice that the employee does not qualify must state what additional information is required to make the verification complete or sufficient, and the employee must be afforded a reasonable period of time to correct the deficiency.¶

(10) An employee who has refused a suitable offer of light duty or modified employment under ORS 659A.043(3)(a)(D) or 659A.046(3)(d) and who otherwise is entitled to OFLA leave under 659A.150 to 659A.186:¶ (a) Automatically commences a period of OFLA pregnancy disability leave upon refusing the offer of employment; and¶

(b) Need not give notice to the employer that would otherwise be required by this rule that the employee is commencing a period of leave.¶

(<u>119</u>) A covered employer may provide an OFLA leave request form. An example of a form that includes information for determining eligibility for OFLA leave as well as leave covered by OFLA and FMLA is attached to this rule.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 659A.805<u>1.060</u>, ORS 65<u>1.060</u>9<u>A.805</u> Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 659A.150-659A.186, ORS 659A.043, ORS 659A.046

RULE SUMMARY: Amends OFLA rule to conform to chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-009-0260

OFLA: Medical Verification and Scheduling of Treatment \P

(1) An employer may require an employee to provide medical verification of the need for OFLA leave, except that: \P

(a) An employer may not require medical verification for parchild placemental leave, for the death of a family memberbereavement leave or for the need for sick child leave due to the closure of a child's school or child care provider as a result of a public health emergency.¶

(b) If an Unless the employee hais takening sick child leave on all or any part of three separate days during a leave year, theleave under ORS 653.601 to 653.661 concurrently with OFLA leave, an employer may only requireest medical verification from a health care provider on the fourth day or any subsequent use of sick child leave within that leave year or sick child leave only after the employee has taken more than three days of sick child leave during an OFLA leave year for a purpose other than to care for a child who requires home care due to the closure of the child's school or child care provider as a result of a public health emergency. The opinion of the health care provider is binding, and the employer may not require the employee to obtain a second opinion.¶

(2) All requests for medical verification must be in writing and must state the consequences for failure to provide the requested medical verification.¶

(3)(a) The employer must pay the cost of any requested medical verification not covered by insurance or another benefit plan, unless the...¶

(b) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, the costs of medical verification for pregnancy disability leave may be paid:

(A) From health and welfare fringe benefit moneys contributed entirely by the employer; or ¶

(B) By the employee if the medical verification is a component of a medical examination or health certificate is required pursuant to a collective bargaining agreement, state or federal statute or city or county ordinance.¶ (4) When an employer<u>e is</u> requires eligible employees<u>d</u> to give advance written notice of foreseeable leave and an eligible employee gives such notice, the employer may also require the employee to provide medical verification of the need for OFLA leave before the leave starts.¶

(5) When an employee commences unforeseeable OFLA leave without prior notice, the employee must provide medical verification within 15 days of the employer's request for verification.¶

(6) If an employer determines that a medical verification provided by an employee is incomplete or insufficient, the employer must provide written notice that states the verification is incomplete or insufficient and the additional information needed to make it complete or sufficient and must afford the employee a reasonable period of time to correct the deficiency.¶

(7) When an employee fails to respond to reasonable employer requests for medical verification of the employee's eligibility for foreseeable leave to determine whether the leave is OFLA qualifying, the employer may deny use of OFLA leave until complete or sufficient medical verification is received.¶

(8) An employer may not delay the use of OFLA leave when medical verification is not received before the commencement of unforeseeable leave. The employer may designate the leave as provisionally approved, subject to medical verification.¶

(9) If an employee submits medical verification signed by a health care provider, the employer may not directly request additional information from the employee or family member's health care provider. However, with permission from the employee or family member, a health care provider representing the employer may contact the employee or family member's health care provider to clarify or authenticate the medical verification.¶
(10) An employer may not request subsequent medical verifications more often than every 30 days and then only

in connection with the employee's absence except when:¶ (a) Circumstances described by the previous medical verification have changed significantly (e.g., the duration or frequency of absences, the severity of conditions, or complications); or¶

(b) The employer receives information that casts doubt upon the employee's stated reason for the absence.¶ (11) Upon request by the employee, the employer is required to provide the employee with a copy of any second and third medical opinions required under ORS 659A.168(1). Absent extenuating circumstances, the requested copies must be provided within five business days after the receipt of the employee's request.¶

(12) When possible, an employee must make a reasonable effExcept as provided in ORS 659A.171(4), an employer may not request medical verification for leave after the employee has qualified for that leave. An employer may not require an employee to obtain a second ort to schedule medical treatment or supervision at times that will

minimize disruption of the employer's operathird opinion. Statutory/Other Authority: <u>ORS 651.060</u>, ORS 659A.805 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 659A.150 - 659A.186

RULE SUMMARY: Amends OFLA rule to conform to chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-009-0265

OFLA: Medical Verification in Languages Other than English \P

(1) In circumstances in which an employee or family member needs to obtain medical verification in a foreign country, the employer shall accept a medical verification as well as second and third opinions from a health care provider who practices in that country.¶

(2) When a medical verification by a health care provider is in a language other than English, the employer may request that the employee provide a written translation of the verification.¶

(a) The employee's request for OFLA leave may not be denied on the basis of failure of a good faith effort to obtain translation of a medical verification.¶

(b) The employer may not deny the employee access to translation resources available to the employer (for instance, bilingual personnel or computer programs).¶

(c) The employer must request the translation as soon as is practicable upon learning that an employee's circumstances may result in a medical verification being issued in a language other than English. Statutory/Other Authority: <u>ORS 651.060</u>, ORS 659A.805

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 659A.150 - 659A.186

RULE SUMMARY: Amends OFLA rule to conform to chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-009-0270 OFLA: Job Protection ¶

(1) An employer must restore an employee returning from OFLA leave, including intermittent and alternative duty leave, to the employee's former position if the job still exists, even if it has been filled during the employee's OFLA leave. The former position is the position held by the employee at the time OFLA leave began, regardless of whether the job has been renamed or reclassified. (For example, a delivery driver must be returned to the same route, at the same rate of pay and benefits, driving the same truck, delivering the same goods, on the same shift and working from the same location as when the driver started OFLA leave.)¶

(2) Any worker hired during an eligible employee's leave to perform the same work that the eligible employee performed before the leave was taken is a replacement worker. When the eligible employee notifies the employer that the employee is ready to return to work, the employer must give that employee the opportunity to work any hours that the replacement worker would otherwise have been scheduled to work.¶

(3) The employee is not entitled to return to the former position if the employee would have been bumped if OFLA leave had not been taken.¶

(4) If the position held by the employee at the time OFLA leave began has in fact been eliminated and not merely renamed or reclassified, the employer must restore the employee to any available, equivalent position.

 (a) An available position is a position that is vacant or not permanently filled.

(b) An equivalent position is a position that is the same as the former position in as many aspects as possible. If an equivalent position is not available at the employee's former job site, the employee may be restored to an equivalent position within 50 miles of the former job site.¶

(5) Unless the terms of a collective bargaining agreement, other agreement or the employer's policy provide otherwise:¶

(a) An employee on OFLA leave does not accrue seniority, production bonuses or other non-health-related benefits that would accrue while the employee is working; \P

(b) Benefits an employee was entitled to prior to starting OFLA leave must be restored in full upon the employee's return to work. The benefits do not have to be restored, however, if such benefits have been eliminated or changed for similarly situated employees;¶

(c) An employee has no greater right to a job or other employment benefits than if the employee had not taken OFLA leave; and ¶

(d) An employee is subject to layoff the same as similarly situated employees not taking OFLA leave.¶

(6) During any OFLA leave, an employer must maintain the employee's coverage under any group health plan on the same conditions as coverage would have been provided if the employee had been continuously employed during the entire leave period.¶

(a) An employer continuing health or other insurance coverage for an employee on OFLA leave may require that the employee pay only the same share of health or other insurance premium during the leave that the employee paid prior to the leave.¶

(b) If an employee cannot or will not pay such costs, the employer may elect to discontinue benefit coverage, unless to do so would render the employer unable to restore the employee to full benefit coverage. If coverage lapses because an employee has not made required premium payments, upon the employee's return from OFLA leave the employer must still restore the employee to coverage/benefits equivalent to those the employee would have had if leave had not been taken and the premium payment(s) had not been missed, including family or dependent coverage. In such case, an employee may not be required to meet any qualification requirements imposed by the plan, including any new preexisting condition waiting period, to wait for an open season, or to pass a medical examination to obtain reinstatement of coverage. If an employee terminates an employee's insurance in accordance with this section and fails to restore the employee's health insurance as required by this section upon the employee's return, the employer may be liable for benefits lost by reason of the violation, for other actual monetary losses sustained as a direct result of the violation, and for appropriate equitable relief tailored to the harm suffered.¶

(c) If the employer pays (directly or indirectly, voluntarily or as required by state or federal statute) any part of the employee's share of health or other insurance premium while an employee is on OFLA leave, the employer may deduct up to 10 percent of the employee's gross pay each pay period after the employee returns to work until the amount is repaid.¶

(d) If an employee fails to return to work - unless the failure to return to work is because of a serious health

condition for which the employee would be entitled to OFLA leave<u>under ORS Chapter 657B</u> or another circumstance beyond the employee's control - the employer may recover the employee's share of benefits paid by the employer. The employer may use any legal means to collect the amount owed for the employee's share of benefits paid by the employer, including deducting the amount from the employee's final paycheck.¶ (7) An employer may require an employee to follow the employer's established leave policy regarding periodic reporting to the employer of the employee's current status. Before restoring the employee to work after taking OFLA leave for the employee's own serious health condition, the employer may require the employee to present verification from the employee's health care provider that the employee is able to resume work, provided such requirement is applied pursuant to a uniformly applied practice or policy of the employer that is also applied to employees that have not taken protected leave.¶

(8) Where required by ORS 659A.112 to 659A.139 and ORS 659A.146 to 659A.148 or other law, employers must consider reasonable accommodations in determining whether an employee is able to resume work.¶ (a) Any medical verification required under this section must be paid for by the covered employer.¶ (b) The employer may not require the employee to obtain a second opinion.¶

(82)(a) If an employee gives unequivocal notice of intent not to return to work from OFLA leave: ¶ (b) The employee is entitled to complete the approved OFLA leave, providing that the original need for OFLA leave still exists. The employee remains entitled to all the rights and protections under OFLA, including but not limited to, the use of vacation, sick leave and health benefits pursuant to OAR 839-009-0270 and 839-009-0280, except that:¶

(A) The employer's obligations under OFLA to restore the employee's position and to restore benefits upon the completion of leave cease, except as required by federal COBRA law, 29 USC 1161 et seq.; and ¶

(B) The employer is not required to hold a position vacant or available for the employee who gives unequivocal notice of intent not to return.¶

(910) An employer may not use the provisions of this section as a subterfuge to avoid the employer's responsibilities under OFLA.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 651.060, ORS 659A.805 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 659A.150 - 659A.186

RULE SUMMARY: Amends OFLA rule to conform to Oregon law, including chapter 20, Oregon Laws 2024.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-009-0280 OFLA: Use of PaiAccrued Leave ¶

(1) Except as provided in this rule or the terms of a collective bargaining agreement, an agreement between the eligible employee and the covered employer, or an employer policy, OFLA leave is not required to be granted with pay.¶

(2) An employee eligible to take OFLA leave is entitled to use accrued paid sick leave, personal leave, vacation leave or any other paid leave that is offered in lieu of <u>sick or</u> vacation leave, during the period of OFLA leave. As used in this rule, accrued paid sick leave does not include disability insurance-or, disability benefits.¶

(3) An employer may require an employee to use accrued paid leave during OFLA leave that would otherwise be unpaid, and may determine the order in which paid leave is to be used if to do so is consistent with a collective bargaining agreement or other written agreement between the eligible employee and the covered employer or an employer policy. The employer may exercise these prerogatives only if:¶

(a) Prior to the commencement of OFLA leave, the employer provides written notice to the employee that accrued paid leave is to be used during OFLA leave; or¶

(b) Within five business days of the employee's notice of unforeseeable leave, the employer provides written notice to the employee or benefits provided under ORS chapter 657B.¶

(4<u>3</u>) An eligible employee or covered employer may choose to have the employee's OFLA leave run concurrently with a type of paid or unpaid leave <u>that is provided by the employer and is</u> not referenced in these rules, as provided or allowed under an employer policy, except that a covered employer may not reduce the amount of OFLA leave available to an eligible employee by any period the employee is unable to work because of a disabling compensable injury which entitles the employee to compensation from the covered employer. See 659A.162(6) and ORS 656.005.

Statutory/Other Authority: <u>ORS 651.060</u>, ORS 659A.805 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 659A.150 - 659A.186

REPEAL: 839-009-0290

RULE SUMMARY: Repeals OFLA rule applicable to teachers.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-009-0290

OFLA: Special Rules for Public School Teachers

(1) The provisions of this section apply only to employees of a school district, employed principally as instructors in public kindergartens, elementary schools, secondary schools or education service districts.¶

(2) If a public school teacher requests foreseeable OFLA leave for a serious health condition of the employee or the employee's family member, and the teacher will be absent more than 20 percent of the total number of working days in the period during which the leave would occur, the employer may require the teacher to elect one of the following options:¶

(a) To take OFLA leave for one uninterrupted period of time to complete medical treatment. (School holidays and school vacation days are not counted as OFLA leave); or¶

(b) To transfer temporarily into an available alternative position that better accommodates periodic absences.¶ (3) If a teacher begins OFLA leave more than five weeks before the end of the academic term because of the teacher's own serious health condition, the employer may require the teacher to remain on leave until the end of the term if:¶

(a) The OFLA leave is at least three weeks long; and ¶

(b) The teacher's return to work would occur within three weeks of the end of the term.¶

(4) If a teacher begins OFLA leave within five weeks of the end of the academic term for parental leave or the serious health condition of a family member, the employer may require the teacher to remain on OFLA leave through the end of the term if:¶

(a) The leave is at least two weeks long; and ¶

(b) The teacher's return would occur within the last two weeks of the term.¶

(5) If a teacher begins OFLA leave within three weeks of the end of the academic term for parental leave or to care for a family member with a serious health condition and the leave is greater than five working days, the employer may require the teacher to remain on family leave until the end of the term.¶

(6) If a teacher takes OFLA leave to the end of the school year and continues the leave at the beginning of the next school term, the leave is consecutive rather than intermittent leave.¶

(a) The period between the end of the school term and the beginning of the next school term, when a teacher would not have been required to report for duty, is not counted against the teacher's OFLA leave entitlement.¶ (b) A teacher on OFLA leave at the end of the school term must be provided with the same benefits during the period between school terms that the teacher would normally receive if no OFLA leave were taken.¶

(7) Full-time employees covered by this rule, and who have been maintained on the payroll by a school district during 180 consecutive calendar days, are thereafter deemed to have been employed by that school district for an average of at least 25 hours per week during the 180 days immediately preceding the date any OFLA leave begins.¶

(8) If a teacher is required by the employer to remain on leave to the end of the academic term, only the period of leave the teacher requested can be charged against the teacher's OFLA leave entitlement.¶

(9) Nothing in these rules prohibits the employer from allowing the teacher to work as a substitute or in some other paid capacity during the weeks prior to the end of term under subsection (4) or (5) of this rule. Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 659A.805

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 659A.150 - 659A.186

RULE SUMMARY: Amends OFLA rule to conform to ORS chapter 659A.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-009-0300 OFLA: Postings ¶

(1) Each covered employer must display the Bureau of Labor and Industries Family Leave Act notice. The notice must be displayed in each building or worksite in an area that is accessible to and regularly frequented by employees. Failure to post the Family Leave Act notice is an unlawful employment-practice as provided in ORS 659A.001(12).¶

(2) Electronic posting of the Family Leave Act notice is not sufficient to satisfy posting requirements, but may supplement worksite posting.

Statutory/Other Authority: <u>ORS 651.060</u>, ORS 659A.805 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 659A.150 - 659A.186

RULE SUMMARY: Amends OFLA rule to repeal provisions that duplicate statute.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-009-0320 OFLA: Enforcement and Retaliation ¶

(1) An employer's duties and obligations under OFLA extend to a successor employer as defined in FMLA, 29 CFR 825.107. \P

(2) In accordance with the provisions of OFLA an eligible employee claiming a violation of the OFLA may file a complaint with the Civil Rights Division of the Bureau of Labor and Industries in the manner provided by ORS 659A.820.¶

(3) Pursuant to ORS 659A.183, it is an unlawful employment practice for an employer to deny family leave to an eligible employee or retaliate or in any way discriminate against any person with respect to hiring, tenure or any other term or condition of employment because the person has inquired about OFLA leave, submitted a request for OFLA leave or invoked any provision of the Oregon Family Leave Act.¶

(4) It is an unlawful employment practice for an employer to count OFLA leave against an employee in determining the employee's compliance with attendance policies or to count OFLA leave against an employee when determining eligibility for bonuses based on attendance. An employee is entitled to continue eligibility for a bonus based on attendance upon return from OFLA leave and may not be disqualified from the bonus as a result of taking OFLA leave.¶

(5) Pursuant to ORS 659A.030(1)(f), it is an unlawful employment practice for an employer to discharge, expel or otherwise discriminate against any person because the person has filed a complaint, testified or assisted in any proceeding in connection with the Oregon Family Leave Act.¶

(6) Pursuant to ORS 659A.030(1)(g), it is an unlawful employment practice for any person, whether an employer or an employee, to aid, abet, incite, compel or coerce the doing of any of the acts in violation of the Oregon Family Leave Act or to attempt to do sot is an unlawful employment practice for an employer to count OFLA leave against an employee in determining the employee's compliance with attendance policies or to count OFLA leave against an employee when determining eligibility for bonuses based on attendance. An employee is entitled to continue eligibility for a bonus based on attendance upon return from OFLA leave and may not be disqualified from the bonus as a result of taking OFLA leave.

Statutory/Other Authority: <u>ORS 651.060</u>, ORS 659A.805 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 659A.150 - 659A.186

AMEND: 839-014-0630

RULE SUMMARY: Amends rule to correct erroneous citation.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-014-0630

Waiver from Telephone Requirement ¶

(1) An employer may request a waiver from the requirements of ORS 659A.4253(3) and these rules. Prior to the granting of any request for waiver the employer must demonstrate to the Commissioner that:

(a) Compliance with the statute and rules would constitute an unreasonable hardship for the employer; and ¶ (b) The employer meets any and all requirements of the Division for an emergency medical plan.¶

(2) Persons desiring a waiver, may apply to the Commissioner on a form prepared by the Bureau. The completed waiver application form shall be submitted to the Wage and Hour Division, Farm Labor Unit, 3865 Wolverine Street, N.E., Bldg. E-1, Salem, OR 97305.¶

(3) Persons desiring to obtain a waiver must submit, with the application, a copy of the emergency medical plan, which meets the requirements of the rules of the Division.¶

(4) In determining what circumstances constitute an unreasonable hardship the Commissioner shall consider the following:¶

(a) Any circumstances presented by the employer in support of the application;¶

(b) The number of employees occupying the housing; \P

(c) The location of the housing; \P

(d) The length of time the housing is intended to be occupied; \P

(e) Any other relevant information.¶

(5) In considering the request for the waiver the Commissioner shall consider: \P

(a) The history of the employer in complying with the emergency medical plan; \P

(b) Any other relevant information. \P

(6) The Commissioner may grant the waiver request when the Commissioner determines that the provisions of section (1) of this rule are met. The Commissioner may specify any conditions on approval of the request. If the request is denied, the Commissioner shall state each reason for the denial.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 164, 165, 651, 658, 651.060, ORS 659<u>A</u>.285(3), 962 Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 659<u>A</u>.285(3)53