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AMEND: 839-019-0004

NOTICE FILED DATE: 05/24/2024

RULE SUMMARY: Amends rule to clarify scope of definitions.
CHANGES TO RULE:

839-019-0004
Definitions &

As used in ORS 653.365 to 653.370 and in these rules, unless the context requires otherwise:
(1) "Bureau" means the Bureau of Labor and Industries of the State of Oregon.q

(2) "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries or the Commisdesiegner's
autherized-deputiesand-officerse.I

(3) "Employ" shalthave-thesams the meaning asgiven that whieh-appearsterm in ORS 653.010(2}.91

(4) "Employer" shalthave-thesams the meaning asgiven that which-appearsterm in ORS 653.010(3}.97

(5) "Employment Certificate" means the employment certificate issued to employers for the employment of
minors pursuant to ORS 653.307 and the employment permits referred to in ORS 653-366chapter 653 and rules
adopted thereunder.q]

(6) "Minor" means any person under 18 years of age.q[

(7) "Person" includes the term "employer" as defined in section (4) of this rule and school districts required to
comply with ORS 653.307:3).91

(8) "Violation" means a transgression of any statute, rule or order, or any part thereof, and includes both acts and
omissions.q[

(9) "Willful" means intentional and includes failure to act. A person commits a willful act when the person knows
what sthe/he person is doing, intends to do what sthe/he person is doing and is a free agent.$

Willfulness does

not require malice.
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 651.060{4}-653:525, ORS 653.370, ORS 653.400
Statutes/Other Implemented:-2643-SB-435; ORS 653.370
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REPEAL: 839-019-0020
NOTICE FILED DATE: 05/24/2024
RULE SUMMARY: Repeals rule.

CHANGES TO RULE:
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AMEND: 839-019-0025
NOTICE FILED DATE: 05/24/2024

RULE SUMMARY: Amends rule to establish framework for assessment of civil penalties pursuant to chapter 1, Oregon
Laws 2024.

CHANGES TO RULE:

839-019-0025
Schedule of Civil Penalties to Be Imposed 1

(1) Frecivitpenalty-foranyeneviolatienshallln addition to any other penalty provided by law, the Commissioner
of the Bureau of Labor and Industries may assess a civil penalty not to exceed $10,000-Fhe-actualameuntofthe
for each violation described in OAR 839-019-0010.9

(2)(a) The Commissioner may enter into a settlement agreement W|th an employer, pursuant to which a civil
penalty will depend-en - ag vating mstaneesbe suspended pending
successful fulflllment of the agreement 1

(b) The Commissioner may enter into a compliance agreement with an employer, pursuant to which an employer
agrees to perform or not to perform specified acts. in exchange for a reduction in the amount or number of civil
penalties assessed.q]

(2¢c) WhenThis section (2) does not limit the authority of the Commissioner deto enterm inesteimpose-a-civil
penalty-forthe-employmentofto a consent order or any other form of agreement with an employer.{

(3)(a) The civil penalty for violation of ORS 653.307. or otherwise employing a minor without a valid employment
certificate, thshall be minimum-civitpenatbyshallbeasfollows:§f

{6} $300forthesecond-offense:sf

{e}-$500forthe third-and subsequentoffenses: the amount of $250if:q

(A) The only violation alleged in the notice of intent to assess civil penalties is the failure to obtain an employment
certificate:

(SB) The erv-l-l-peﬂattresset—euieemolover was not sublect to an agreement described in section (2) of this rule sha

Fuat the tlme the V|oIat|on was commltted A

(C) The employer has cured the violation; and
(D) The Bureau has not issued the employer a final order for a violation described in OAR 839-019-0010 within
the past five years. ‘IT

(b)U les;s the v

sectlon aDDIv the CIVI| penaltv for wolatmg ORS 653 307 or otherwise emDIovmg a minor without a vaI|d

employment certificate, shall be in the amount of $1.000.9

(4) The civil penalty for violating any of the following statutes or rules shall be in an amount not less than $5,000
and not exceeding $10.000:9

(ba) Employment of a minor in violation of ORS 653.330, 653.335, 653.340 or 653.360.91

(eb) Employment of a minor in violation of OAR 839-021-00974a}-839-021-0097(1 e} 0r8392-021-0097(2) q
(dc) Employment of a minor in violation of OAR 839-021-0102,839-021-0104, or 839-021-01046.9
(

ed) Emponment ofa mmor in violation of OAR 839 021- 028992-)—@’—839-9-2—}—9282—%

SN Hfulandrepeated067,839-021-0070, or 839-021-0087 for the third or subsequent time. [

(5) The civil penalty for violation of any of the following statutes or rules shall be in an amount not less than $1.000
and not exceeding $2.500:90

(a) Employment of a mlnor in violations of the prOV|S|ons of ORS 653 305t0653.3700or OAR 839- 021 0091 to
839-021-0500 3 = an-$ achw
Fepeafeed-wel-aiemﬂw-l-l-bthat is not specn"lcallv |dent|f|ed in sectlon (4) of thls ruIe 1

(b) Employment of a minor in violation of OAR 839-021-0067.839-021-0070, or 839-021-0087 for the first and
second time.1]

(6) When this rule provides a range of civil penalties, the Commissioner may consider the value of deterrence and
any aggravating or mitigating circumstances, including:
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(a) Measures taken by the employer to promptly prevent or correct violations of the law:{l

(b) Any prior violations of the law committed by the iempesed-whenrthe-Commissionerdeterminestoimposea
eivil-penalty:loyer:S

(c) The magnitude and seriousness of the violation; andq

(d) Each of the factors described in 29 CFR 579.5.9

(7) Notwithstanding any other provision of this rule:q

(6a) FhecivilpenaltyforalleNo less than the maX|mum CIVI| penalty amount |dent|f|ed in sectlons (4) and (5) of
this rule shall be assessed if ther violation . io
referredtoin OAR8392-019-0020.9

(A) Is willful and repeated; orq]

(B) Resulted in an imminent danger to minor employees, or a substantial probability that death or a serious injury,
illness or condition could have occurred, while performing duties on behalf of the employer.q

(b) The civil penalty when a minor incurs a serious injury, illness or condition, or dies, while performing duties on
behalf of the employer in violation of the provisions of ORS 653.305 to 653.370 or OAR 839-021-0001 to 839-
021-0500, may be in an amount that does not exceed $10,000.91

(8) As used in this rule, "serious injury, illness or condition" includes "serious injury" as that phrase is defined in 29
CFR579.2.

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 651;-653.060, ORS 653.400

Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 653.370
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AMEND: 839-021-0006

NOTICE FILED DATE: 05/24/2024

RULE SUMMARY: Amends rule to clarify scope of definitions.
CHANGES TO RULE:

839-021-0006
Definitions for ORS 653.305 to 653.370 and OAR 839-021-0001 to 839-021-0500 1

As used in ORS 653.305 to 653.370 and in OAR 839-021-0001 to 839-021-0500, unless the context requires
otherwise:q

(1) "Agriculture" includes farming in all its branches and among other things includes the cultivation and tillage of
the soil, dairying, the production, cultivation, growing, and harvesting of any agricultural or horticultural
commodities, the raising of livestock, bees, fur-bearing animals, or poultry and any practices performed by a
farmer or on afarm as an incident to or in conjunction with such farming operations, including preparation for
market, delivery to storage or to market, or to carriers for transportation to market. "Agricultural employment” is
employment in "Agriculture" as herein defined.q[

(2) "Bureau" means Bureau of Labor and Industries of the State of Oregon.q]

(3) "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries_or designee.q

(4) "Employ" has the same-meaning asgiven that which-appearsterm in ORS 653.010(2}.91

(5) "Employer" has the same-meaning asgiven that which-appearsterm in ORS 653.010(3}.11

(6) "Employment Certificate" means the employment certificate issued to employers for the employment of
minors pursuant to ORS 653.307, and the employment permit referred to in ORS 653:320{3)chapter 653 and the
rules adopted thereunder.q[

(7) "Harvest Season" means a period of time during which the crop or crops of the agricultural employer for whom
aminor is employed are harvested. Work performed during the harvest season includes work in connection with
the gathering of the crop but does not include cultivation and tillage of the soil or cultivation and growing of
agricultural commodities.q

(8) "Minor" means any person under 18 years of age.ql

(9) "Workday" means any fixed period of 24 consecutive hours.q[

(10) "Workweek" means any fixed and regularly recurring period of seven consecutive workdays.
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 651.0604};, ORS 653.261

Statutes/Other Implemented:-S-B—135;77th-teg;Reg-Ses{0r2043); ORS 653.370
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