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Governor Brown signs bill to increase age to purchase commercial tobacco to 21  
Guidelines outlined for commercial tobacco retailers to comply with new law 

Insert Tribe commercial Tobacco Prevention Statistic or goal as subhead 

CITY, Ore. — Date — Oregon Governor Kate Brown’s signing this week of a new law that raises the required minimum age to legally buy or obtain commercial tobacco products from 18 to 21 caps a year-long celebration of 20 years of commercial tobacco prevention successes in the state.

[bookmark: _GoBack]Brown signed SB 754, known as Tobacco 21 and recently passed by the Oregon Legislature, making Oregon the fifth state to increase the age to purchase commercial tobacco, after California, Hawaii, Maine and New Jersey. The new law takes effect immediately, with enforcement and fines to begin Jan. 1, 2018. 

“The passage of Tobacco 21 is a tremendous accomplishment for public health in this state, and the young people of Oregon,” said Oregon Health Authority Public Health Division Director Lillian Shirley. “Tobacco 21 is an evidence-based strategy that will help reduce youth initiation of tobacco. We know that most addiction to tobacco starts in adolescence—in fact, nine of 10 adults who smoke report that they started smoking before they turned 18, and almost 100 percent start before they turn 26.” 

She added, “We need to protect kids with laws such as Tobacco 21 because new marketing tactics and products with hookahs, e-cigarettes and flavored vaping products put a new generation at risk of addiction.”

There’s still work left to be done in _____ Tribe
There are commercial tobacco prevention challenges in _____ Tribe to help prevent future generations from starting to use commercial tobacco. Insert statistics from your Tribe page or from your Health Center about commercial tobacco use rates in your community. (e.g., 34% of American Indian/Alaska Native adults in Oregon smoke commercial cigarettes). 	Comment by Sue Van Brocklin: Some information may be available on your Tribes’s page on SmokefreeOregon.com.

 “Insert quote about the work that remains in ____ Tribe,” said Insert Name, Title, Organization. “Insert quote about your Tribe and efforts to protect youth from commercial tobacco.” 	Comment by Sue Van Brocklin: Change or adjust to suit your Tribe’s needs and to personalize it.





What the law means for retailers who are covered by this law:
Currently, there is no violation for people ages 18, 19, or 20 to possess commercial tobacco products or inhalant delivery systems. Enforcement will take place at the retail locations that sell these products:

· Effective immediately, retailers and certified smoke shops can no longer sell tobacco products, inhalant delivery systems, or tobacco delivery systems to people younger than 21. There are no exceptions for sales and use of tobacco or inhalant delivery systems to persons under 21 years of age.
· Retailers and certified smoke shops that sell tobacco products or inhalant delivery systems are required to display a sign stating the prohibition of tobacco product or inhalant delivery system sales to persons younger than 21.Failure to post a sign stating this would be a Class A violation. 
· Enforcement of this law goes into effect Jan. 1, 2018.

Learn More:
· Learn more by visiting:  http://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/PREVENTIONWELLNESS/TOBACCOPREVENTION/Pages/retailenvironment.aspx
· Email questions to: Tobacco.Inspections@state.or.us

For more information about tobacco prevention and the work being doing in _____ Tribe, visit SmokefreeOregon.com. 	Comment by Sue Van Brocklin: Hyperlink to your Tribe’s success page on SmokefreeOregon.com.
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