

This email is also available in other languages: <u>Español (Spanish)</u>, 한국어 (Korean), Русский (Russian), <u>简体中文(Chinese), عربب (Arabic)</u>, <u>Tiếng Việt (Vietnamese)</u>.

OREGON TOBACCO RETAIL LICENSE BULLETIN

What gets reviewed at inspections?

There are a few types of inspections for tobacco retailers and some things you can do in advance to make sure they go smoothly. The Oregon Health Authority (OHA) conducts inspections to check for compliance with tobacco sales laws. OHA also conducts inspections to make sure there are no tobacco sales to customers under 21 years old. The <u>Department of Revenue</u> (DOR) checks to make sure that retailers selling tobacco have a current Tobacco Retail License. Retailers may also be inspected by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for compliance with federal tobacco sales laws.

We've created a checklist that you can use to make sure you are in compliance with all Oregon tobacco sales laws and are ready for your OHA and DOR inspections: How to Comply with Oregon Tobacco Laws

Protecting youth from tobacco

Tobacco use is the main preventable cause of death in Oregon, and almost 90% of people who use tobacco start before they turn 18. Preventing youth from ever using tobacco is one of the best ways we can improve health in our state.

Tobacco companies, however, make it as hard as possible to avoid tobacco. They market their products aggressively to young people by doing things like placing advertisements for fruity-flavored products at the

eye level of a 9-year-old. But by working in partnership with retailers—like you—to make sure that all tobacco sales laws are followed, we can keep these addictive and deadly tobacco products out of the hands of people under 21. If you'd like to get more involved in preventing youth from becoming addicted to tobacco, check out the

U.S. Food and Drug Administration's <u>This is Our Watch</u> program materials. The program offers a mix of educational pieces for owners, managers, and clerks, as well as a variety of point-of-purchase tools to inform customers of the law and emphasize the retailer's role: https://www.fda.gov/tobacco-products/retailsales-tobacco-products/our-watch.

Quick Tip

Did you know that Tobacco Retail Licensing requires posting of the <u>State Notice sign</u>? It's true! The sign states that it is unlawful to sell tobacco or Inhalant Delivery Systems (IDS) to customers under 21. Here is what it looks like:

ORS 431A.175, ORS 431A.178

The sale of tobacco products and inhalant delivery systems to persons under 21 years of age is prohibited by law. Any person who sells, or allows to be sold, a tobacco product or inhalant delivery system to a person under 21 years of age is in violation of Oregon law.





You can download this sign in English here: https://bit.ly/3JKJTBP. The sign is available in multiple

1.800.QUIT.NOW (1.800.784.8669) ww.guitnow.net/oregon

Want to Quit Smoking?

languages and can be found on this page or by visiting healthoregon.org/tobaccoretailsales and going to the "Retailers" section.

seller and the purchaser will result in a violation (Oregon Revised Statute 431A.175).

Failing to post this sign (or a notice that is substantially similar) in a location that is clearly visible to the

LAW PROHIBITS IF YOU WERE BORN THE SALE AFTER TODAY'S DATE IN TO UNDERAGE PERSONS. YOU CAN'T BUY TOBACCO. E-CIGARETTES PRODUCTS!

Signs—like the ones below—or similar signs do **NOT** meet the state requirement.

Tobacco Retail Licensing Training Manual for Retailers

Resources for Retailers:

- Tobacco Retail Licensing Fact Sheet (available in Spanish, Korean, Russian, Chinese, Arabic and <u>Vietnamese</u>)
- Tobacco Retail Licensing FAQs (available in Spanish, Korean, Russian, Chinese, Arabic and Vietnamese)
- Nicotine Disposal Guide
- Required tobacco sales signage Instructions for reading Oregon IDs
- Questions? We're here to help!

Department of Revenue (DOR):

• For questions or requests for DOR: <u>TRL.help@dor.oregon.gov</u>, 503-945-8120

- For information about the law or licensing: go.usa.gov/xe999
- **Oregon Health Authority (OHA):**

For more information and access to resources for retailers: www.healthoregon.org/tobaccoretailsales

Local (county or city) Public Health:

• For questions or requests for OHA: <u>Tobacco.Inspections@dhsoha.state.or.us</u>, 971-673-2283

Information for local public health programs is available <u>here</u>, or reach out to

한국어 번역이 필요 하신가요? Quý vị cần hỗ trợ về thông dịch? ¿Necesita servicios de traducción? Do you need help with translation? 是否需要翻译帮助? Вам нужна помощь с переводом?

Oregon Health Authority · 800 NE Oregon St · Portland, OR 97232-2162 · USA

You can <u>update your preferences</u> or <u>unsubscribe</u>

<u>Tobacco.Inspections@dhsoha.state.or.us</u> to find out what activities may be happening in your area.

هل انت بحاجة الى مساعدة في الترجمة؟ tobacco.inspections@dhsoha.state.or.us

971-673-2283, 711 TTY