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Frequently Asked Questions 
Program Element (PE) 76: Local Administration of Statewide 

Tobacco Retail Licensing (TRL)  

Local programs have the choice to opt into PE 76, which provides funding for local activities 
related to administering and enforcing Oregon commercial tobacco retail sales laws.  

Q: If a local program decides to opt into PE 76, what is expected? 

A: Local programs will be responsible for conducting two annual inspections for each 
retailer in their county: Minimum Legal Sales Age (MLSA) and Compliance Inspections, as 
well as any potential follow-up compliance inspections. In addition, local programs will be 
notified if there is a public complaint logged with one of the retailers in their county and 
must conduct the appropriate inspection within 60 days. Inspection data will be entered 
into HealthSpace, an online database maintained by the state TRL program.   

Local programs will be trained by Oregon TRL staff and must adhere to statewide inspection 
procedures. 

Q: What compensation will local programs receive to do the work?  

A: Local programs will receive a flat rate of $380 per each retailer to perform all annual 
inspections (one MLSA, one compliance inspection, and any necessary follow-up 
inspections per retailer). Payments are provided after all scheduled inspections are 
complete. Local programs will also be responsible for responding to any valid public 
complaints within 60 days regarding retailers not following state and federal tobacco sales 
laws. There are no additional funds distributed for complaint inspections.  
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Q: Are local programs able to impose their own local procedure? 

A:  ORS 431A.190 states that regulation of the retail sale of tobacco products and inhalant 
delivery systems must be administered and enforced consistently throughout the state. 
This means that both OHA and local programs will be following the same protocols, and 
local programs can’t adapt protocols locally. If a locality has more protective local standards 
for tobacco retail sales, those standards must be enforced with local funds. 

Q: Can TRL PE 76 be an extension of a local program’s Tobacco 
Prevention Education Program (TPEP) workplan?  

A: PE 76 is a separate program and is not an amendment to the PE 13 TPEP workplan. 
These two funding sources and associated activities must be separate. TPEP staff may not 
use TPEP funds to conduct any activities that fall under PE 76 once inspections begin on July 
1st of the opt in year. 

Q: Considering TRL PE 76 is a separate funding source than PE 13, 
and PE 76 funds are distributed quarterly and after the inspections 
occur, how do we fund this work before the first quarterly 
installment?  

A: Through June of the opt in year, local programs may prepare for TRL enforcement in 
any way that is best for their community and capacity. Local programs can work with their 
HPCDP Community Programs Liaison to integrate PE 76 preparation activities into their 
current TPEP workplan, ending June 30th of the opt in year. All PE 13 TPEP and PE 76 TRL 
activities must be separately funded through their respective program element beginning 
July 1st of the opt in year.  

Q: Can local programs opt to use Ballot Measure 108 funds to 
implement TRL PE 76?   

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors431A.html
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A: No, Ballot Measure 108 cannot be used to frontload this work. Ballot Measure 108 
funds have a separate workplan focused on equity and do not include TRL. As stated above, 
PE 13 funds may be used by local programs opting into PE 76 to prepare for TRL 
enforcement. 

Q: Are there specific qualifications for hiring TRL inspectors? 

A: There are no mandated qualifications for hiring TRL inspectors. OHA can share position 
descriptions for the OHA TRL Compliance Specialist 3s and young adult inspectors, as well 
as interview questions, if helpful. Current PE 76 counties may also have position 
descriptions available. Reach out to Sarah Wylie sarah.a.wylie@oha.oregon.gov, Oregon 
TRL Program Manager, if interested.  

Q: How many hours per week should be budgeted for this 
position?  

A: Hours budgeted for each local program depends on the number of retailers, type of 
retailers, retailer location, and inspection type. For MLSA, approximately 10-15 minutes per 
inspection is reasonable, but if a sale is made and the retailer has many questions, it could 
take up to 30 minutes. If retail locations are in closer proximity, approximately 20 
inspections may be completed in one day. However, if retailers are far apart in distance, 
fewer inspection will be completed. 
   
For Compliance Inspections, OHA recommends starting by budgeting 25-45 minutes per 
retailer, not including travel time and planning. Some variables to consider include the type 
of retailer. For example, it may take longer to find the person in charge when inspecting 
large chain stores, where smaller stores and bars will have quicker inspections. We 
anticipate re-check visits will take only 15-20 minutes.   
 

Q: Can MLSA and Compliance Inspections occur on the same date?  

A: This is a decision each local program can determine based on their operations. OHA has 
chosen to conduct these inspections on separate dates due to logistics, safety factors, and 
efficiency since young adult inspectors will only participate in the MLSA inspections. If both 

mailto:sarah.a.wylie@oha.oregon.gov
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inspections occur on the same date, young adult inspectors would be waiting long periods 
of time in the car for the compliance inspections to take place at each retail location. If 
Compliance and MLSA Inspections occur on the same day, the MLSA inspection must occur 
first to avoid alerting the retailer to the undercover inspection. 

Q: How are inspections submitted to Oregon Health Authority?  

A: OHA uses a data collection and management system called HealthSpace. This will be 
available to local programs who opt into PE 76. OHA will offer training on how to access 
and use HealthSpace prior to beginning inspections. 

Q: Will complaints be routed through HealthSpace?  

A: Yes. Complaints will come in through the complaint form in HealthSpace. Once the 
complaint has been reviewed by OHA staff and determined to be a valid TRL complaint, it 
will be assigned to the corresponding local program. Once routed to the correct local 
program, they will be responsible for responding to the complaint within 60 days as 
outlined in the inspection protocols. OHA will respond to the complaint source to let them 
know that their compliant has been received and, if valid, is being addressed.   
 

Q: What can local programs expect for support and training? 
 

A: OHA will be available to help local programs understand their role at the local level, 
discuss staffing questions, and provide training on how to complete inspections. OHA can 
share tips for hiring, tips for working with young adult inspectors, provide access and 
training on how to use HealthSpace, and provide local programs with educational materials 
for retailers. Local programs will also have access to OHA Compliance Specialists for 
training, shadowing, ongoing mentorship and technical assistance, and training on specific 
inspection protocols.   

Aside from initial mandatory training sessions, OHA will continue to hold retailer inspection 
and communication trainings and meetings as well as evaluation activities related to local 
administration of statewide tobacco retail licensing inspections. Local programs will have 
continuous access to OHA TRL staff to assist with any technical assistance needs.    
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Q: What happens if local programs are unable to complete all the 
required inspections? 
 
A:  Compensation for inspections is dependent on inspection completion. Local programs 
will receive $380 per retailer annually, after all required inspections (one MLSA and one 
compliance, with any associated follow-up inspections) are completed. If inspections are 
not completed and invoiced, the local program will not receive compensation. If local 
programs are unable to meet the PE 76 requirements for conducting inspections, the local 
program may not be able to continue with PE 76 and these inspection obligations will be 
returned to OHA.  

What steps need to be taken if a local program would like to opt 
in? 

A:  If your local program is interested in opting into PE  76, the Local Public Health 
Administrator must notify the Statewide OHA TRL program by January 31, 2024. Please 
contact sarah.a.wylie@oha.oregon.gov 

Contact us: 
For general questions regarding PE 76, please contact Annie Masuda at 
anne.masuda2@oha.oregon.gov   
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