
Oregon Child Forensic Interview Training 
2016 Application Form 

 
 

This is not a registration form. By submitting this form, you are applying to 
attend Oregon Child Forensic Interview Training (OCFIT). While we will strive to 
accommodate all applicants, applications are prioritized by ONCAIC, Regional Service 
Providers, and the Oregon Department of Justice based on training needs, position, and 
agency representation with first priority given to center-based interviewers. You will be 
notified of acceptance or wait-list status by the date specified on page two of the 
application. 
 
Tuition payment should be submitted in the form of a check payable to ONCAIC. Further 
instructions can be found on page one of the application. If you have questions about 
payment, or think that your payment will not be received by the application deadline, 
please contact Katharine at training@childabuseintervention.org. 
 
If you’re applying to OCFIT through a Child Abuse Intervention Center in your county or 
region, please contact that CAIC for additional instructions about payment or lodging 
arrangements.  
 
Applications that are not filled out completely will be returned and will 
not be considered until all information has been provided.  
 



 

Oregon Child Forensic Interviewer Training Application 

Pa
ge
1	

 
Oregon Child Forensic Interview Training 
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Submit your application and tuition by the application deadline (noted below) to:     

 
The Oregon Network of Child Abuse Intervention Centers (Checks Payable to ONCAIC) 
ATTN: OCFIT 
PO Box 17464 
Portland, OR 97217 
Phone:  425-492-6300  
Email:  training@childabuseintervention.org    
Website: www.childabuseintervention.org  

 

Tuition - $175 

Your application will not be processed unless it is signed by both you and your supervisor and your $175 
tuition fee has been received. If your application is not accepted for this training, your application fee 
will be returned to you.  
 
Requests for reimbursements will be available for Oregon professionals who are CAIC staff interviewers, 
law enforcement, or child welfare workers and who receive a certification of completion for the training. 
Reimbursement requests are limited to the cost of tuition and up to $280 for hotel accommodations. 
Hotel accommodations must meet the GSA guidelines (www.GSA.gov). 
 

 
Participant Information 

Name  
 

Title  

Agency  
 

Street Address  
 

City, State, Zip code  

County  

Phone  

Cell Phone  

E-Mail Address  
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Training you are applying for (select one only): 
 

_____ October 11-14, 2016, Pendleton Application Deadline:  September 1, 2016 

*If accepted, you will be notified by end-of-day September 12. You will need to make a hotel 
reservation by September 19 to guarantee a spot at the hotel where training is taking place.  

Trainings will be held from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on days 1, 2 and 3. Breakfast and lunch 
will be provided on these days. 
 
Training will be held from 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. on day 4. Breakfast will be provided on 
this day. 

 

Discipline: 
Which of the following best describes the discipline you represent: 

 
___ CPS Caseworker  ___ Prosecution 

___ Law Enforcement ___ Medical 

___ Forensic Interviewer ___ Mental Health 

___ CAIC Staff (other than FI)  

___ CPS: Other (adoption, permanency, … please specify) __________________________________ 

___ Other (Please Identify) ________________________________________________________ 

 

Need for Training: 

Please indicate your need for this training: 

 

 

Do you conduct forensic interviews in a Child Abuse Intervention Center (vs. in 
the field or in another location)?  
___ Yes ___ No 

If yes, please note the name of the CAIC. If no, please explain why.  (i.e., we don’t have one in our 
community) 
 
 
 
If no, have you been invited to conduct interviews at a CAIC upon completion of OCFIT? Please note 
the name of the CAIC if so. 
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By signing this form and remitting your tuition fee you commit to:  

 

1. Attending Oregon Child Forensic Interview Training on the dates indicated above. 
2. Attending the training in its entirety. Missing 30 minutes or more of the training will 

prohibit you from receiving a certificate of completion and you will not be eligible for 
any reimbursement of expenses related to the training.  The training is a 3 ½ -day, 
intensive training that begins at 8:00 a.m., includes a working lunch, and concludes at 5:00 p.m. 
on days 1, 2 and 3. The final day of training begins at 8:00 a.m. and concludes at 12:00 p.m. 
Upon completion of the training, you will receive a certificate for 32.0 training hours.  

3. Conducting two practice interviews and participating in peer review of my interviews and my 
colleagues’ interviews during the training. 

4. If accepted into training, making every reasonable effort to notify ONCAIC in advance if 
you will not be able to attend so that your place can be given to someone on the waitlist.  

5. Reading the following materials* prior to attending the training: 
a. Oregon Interviewing Guidelines (3rd ed. 2012) 
b. Saywitz, K., Lyon, T. & Goodman, G.S. (2011).  Interviewing Children.  To appear in:  J.E.B. 

Myers (ed.), The APSAC handbook on child maltreatment (3d ed.). 
c. Lyon, T. D., & Ahern, E.C., (2011). Disclosure of child sexual abuse. In J. E. B. Myers (Ed.), 

The APSAC handbook on child maltreatment (3rd ed.). Newbury Park, CA: SAGE Publications, 
233-252      

*Once your application has been received and approved, the required reading materials will be emailed to you. 

6. Completing a pre-and post-test and daily quizzes that are built into each training module.  The 
tests and quizzes will be based on the required reading materials and the curriculum. 

7. Earning a score of 85% or better on the post-test to receive a certificate of completion.  If you 
do not receive an 85% or better, you will have the opportunity to receive coaching from your 
Regional Service Provider and to re-take the post-test to successfully pass and receive your 
certificate. 

Agreement and Signature of Applicant 

Name (printed) 

Signature 

Date 

Agreement and Signature of Applicant’s Supervisor 

Name (printed) 

Title 

Email 

Phone 

Signature 

Date 

Cancellation Policy 
Cancellations received 30 days prior to the training will be refunded.  Cancellations received fewer than 
30 days prior to the training may not be refunded and may result in additional charges to your agency.  
Registration may be transferable up to one week prior to the date of training, with appropriate 
approval from a supervisor at your agency. 

Thank you for completing this application form and for your interest in this training. 

 


