[Libs-Or] Congratulations to Jane Corry, Lampman Award Recipient

CSD Lampman Chair csdlampmanchair at olaweb.org
Mon Mar 19 11:51:08 PDT 2018

On March 17, 2018,  Jane Corry was given the Evelyn Sibley Lampman Award  for
her significant contribution to Oregon in the fields of children’s library
services. Friends, colleagues, and family were honored to participate in
this event at the Children’s Services Division Spring Workshop.

Jane Corry has made an indelible mark on the library profession and on
families across Oregon as a Multnomah County Library Youth Librarian—her
dream job—from 1997 to April 2017.

Though retired, Jane shines bright in the OLA spotlight still. She is a
lead organizer for the first OLA Leadership Institute, serves on the
Library Development and Legislation Committee, and is the Children’s
Services Division incoming Co-Chairperson. This level of passion for the
library profession and youth services was demonstrated early in Jane’s

Nearly twenty years ago, Jane was instrumental in training library staff on
how to incorporate early literacy messages in storytimes as part of the
Every Child Ready to Read First Edition (ECRR1) pilot program in Oregon.
She also helped develop a video featuring the Six ECRR1 Skills that was
distributed to all Oregon libraries.

Not only has Jane brought joy and early literacy skills to thousands of
families, but she has shared her expertise with others as a trainer and
mentor for Multnomah County Library staff, students from Emporia State
University’s MLS program, and Portland State University’s teacher librarian
students who learned how to connect with children and adults as well as how
to make reading accessible and fun.

Jane is a champion of service to the library profession and often cajoles
others to serve on committees.  Her previous commitments include serving as
Lampman Award Chair, CSD Chair, and as OLA President. She also reached out
to REFORMA during her OLA Presidency and encouraged them to join OLA.

Jane Corry is a youth librarian, mentor, advocate, and the 2018 Evelyn
Sibley Lampman Award recipient. Congratulations Jane!

Carrie Kasperick, MSLS
CSD Evelyn Sibley Lampman Chairperson
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://omls.oregon.gov/pipermail/libs-or/attachments/20180319/674a0168/attachment.html>

More information about the Libs-Or mailing list